Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
Stevester
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 24, 2009 12:06 pm
Full Name: Steve Handy
Contact:

Solution - Cannot connect remote via Veeam Client

Post by Stevester » Nov 10, 2009 1:40 pm

Good Day Everyone,

The solution to the issue where one cannot connect remote via the Veeam Client has been solved. I did two things. From the SQL Server Configuration Manager:

a) Enabled SQL Server Browser

b) Enabled VIA in protocols

This seemed to have worked for me. Just wanted to share.

Thanks
Steve

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22289
Liked: 1413 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Solution - Cannot connect remote via Veeam Client

Post by Vitaliy S. » Nov 10, 2009 2:36 pm

Hello Steve,

Thank you for posting the resolution on our forums, this is very useful information. Glad that you're up and running right now.

simm0
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 16, 2009 9:12 am
Full Name: Simon Thomson
Contact:

Re: Solution - Cannot connect remote via Veeam Client

Post by simm0 » Nov 17, 2009 2:09 am

I also had this issue and found it was linked to SQL connectivity and firewall settings.

You must have:

SQL Server browser enabled.
IP protocol enabled.
SQL set to use fixed IP ports, SQL 2005 Express defaults to using dynamic ports.
Firewalls configured to pass both the SQL server instance port and the SQL server browser port (1433 & 1434 are the defaults).

For more information the following link is excellent:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms175043.aspx

HTH,
Simon.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests