Solution - Cannot connect remote via Veeam Client

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Solution - Cannot connect remote via Veeam Client

Veeam Logoby Stevester » Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:40 pm

Good Day Everyone,

The solution to the issue where one cannot connect remote via the Veeam Client has been solved. I did two things. From the SQL Server Configuration Manager:

a) Enabled SQL Server Browser

b) Enabled VIA in protocols

This seemed to have worked for me. Just wanted to share.

Thanks
Steve
Stevester
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:06 pm
Full Name: Steve Handy

Re: Solution - Cannot connect remote via Veeam Client

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:36 pm

Hello Steve,

Thank you for posting the resolution on our forums, this is very useful information. Glad that you're up and running right now.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Solution - Cannot connect remote via Veeam Client

Veeam Logoby simm0 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:09 am

I also had this issue and found it was linked to SQL connectivity and firewall settings.

You must have:

SQL Server browser enabled.
IP protocol enabled.
SQL set to use fixed IP ports, SQL 2005 Express defaults to using dynamic ports.
Firewalls configured to pass both the SQL server instance port and the SQL server browser port (1433 & 1434 are the defaults).

For more information the following link is excellent:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms175043.aspx

HTH,
Simon.
simm0
Novice
 
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:12 am
Full Name: Simon Thomson


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests