Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
preitsma
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 01, 2012 11:45 am
Full Name: Pieter Reitsma
Location: Groningen
Contact:

Temporarily pause alarms

Post by preitsma » Dec 23, 2013 7:20 am

Hello all,

How can I temporarily pause alarms from a VM in Veeam ONE monitoring ?

For example. I have a Citrix farm, and there's a faulty server. I'll put it in maintenance in Citrix, pause all sensors in PRTG network monitor, but I also want to pause Veeam ONE monitoring for that specific VM, so I can perform some actions without all kinds of alerts. Is that possible ?

Kind regards, Pieter.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23230
Liked: 1611 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 23, 2013 11:13 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Pieter,

Yes, that's possible. You can either exclude all alarms on this object by right-clicking and selecting "Exclude" option or enable "Maintenance mode" on the object (choose the VM you need -> right click -> Alarms -> Maintenance mode)

Thank you!

preitsma
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 01, 2012 11:45 am
Full Name: Pieter Reitsma
Location: Groningen
Contact:

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Post by preitsma » Dec 23, 2013 11:48 am

Yes. Now I see it. Sorry for asking.

Combination of my RDP session and mouse gave me only the option "Refresh" and "Add server".
Now I see that I have to select the server, and then rightclick, instead of rightclick on the object right away.

Thanks for answering.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23230
Liked: 1611 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 23, 2013 11:52 am

You can always install additional Monitor Client on your desktop to avoid RDP issues ;)

preitsma
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 01, 2012 11:45 am
Full Name: Pieter Reitsma
Location: Groningen
Contact:

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Post by preitsma » Dec 23, 2013 12:04 pm

Well, I avoid trying to work with all sorts of clients. Also PRTG has a client. I've now combined vCenter alarms + Veeam ONE alarms (tuned) + PRTG (exceptions/additional). All three send mails to our team. Additionally we created a PRTG map on our TV screens, adjusted for each team. All three products have there pros and cons. Combination of these is just powerfull.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests