Temporarily pause alarms

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Temporarily pause alarms

Veeam Logoby preitsma » Mon Dec 23, 2013 7:20 am

Hello all,

How can I temporarily pause alarms from a VM in Veeam ONE monitoring ?

For example. I have a Citrix farm, and there's a faulty server. I'll put it in maintenance in Citrix, pause all sensors in PRTG network monitor, but I also want to pause Veeam ONE monitoring for that specific VM, so I can perform some actions without all kinds of alerts. Is that possible ?

Kind regards, Pieter.
preitsma
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Groningen
Full Name: Pieter Reitsma

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:13 am 1 person likes this post

Hello Pieter,

Yes, that's possible. You can either exclude all alarms on this object by right-clicking and selecting "Exclude" option or enable "Maintenance mode" on the object (choose the VM you need -> right click -> Alarms -> Maintenance mode)

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Veeam Logoby preitsma » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:48 am

Yes. Now I see it. Sorry for asking.

Combination of my RDP session and mouse gave me only the option "Refresh" and "Add server".
Now I see that I have to select the server, and then rightclick, instead of rightclick on the object right away.

Thanks for answering.
preitsma
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Groningen
Full Name: Pieter Reitsma

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:52 am

You can always install additional Monitor Client on your desktop to avoid RDP issues ;)
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1106 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Temporarily pause alarms

Veeam Logoby preitsma » Mon Dec 23, 2013 12:04 pm

Well, I avoid trying to work with all sorts of clients. Also PRTG has a client. I've now combined vCenter alarms + Veeam ONE alarms (tuned) + PRTG (exceptions/additional). All three send mails to our team. Additionally we created a PRTG map on our TV screens, adjusted for each team. All three products have there pros and cons. Combination of these is just powerfull.
preitsma
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Groningen
Full Name: Pieter Reitsma


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests