Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
jonz
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2019 3:09 pm
Full Name: JONATHON ZENER
Contact:

Tuning data aggregation periods

Post by jonz »

Hi there,

Is it possible to use non-standard data-aggregation periods such that we can preserve the most maximum granularity beyond the 1 hour period?

My use case is that I'm often called upon to troubleshoot an event that happened within the last few hours, but it is outside of the one hour window.

The ability to preserve the data and look back at a longer time period in full depth would be very helpful. I recognize that this needs to be balanced against database bloat, but hoping that as I've focused the collection of data to just the dozen or so VMs and datastores which I need to monitor that this shouldn't be as much of an issue. In fact, I'd be happy to trade long term (beyond the 24-48 hour period) preservation of historical data for increased granularity of the past 4-6 (or more) hours.

Thanks.

-Jonathon

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24030
Liked: 1794 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Tuning data aggregation periods

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Jonathon,

Yes, there is such a possibility (tune the data aggregation settings), but changing these parameters might slow down the UI responsiveness and will definitely increase the database size (to 2-3 times more). Please contact our support team for assistance with this as they need to make sure that after these changes your installation is in good shape.

Thanks!

jonz
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 25, 2019 3:09 pm
Full Name: JONATHON ZENER
Contact:

Re: Tuning data aggregation periods

Post by jonz »

Thanks for your response. I opened a ticket and am awaiting a response from the support team.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24030
Liked: 1794 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Tuning data aggregation periods

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hey Jonathon,

Yes, I see that you don't have an active maintenance (support) contract and you're using a FREE edition of Veeam ONE but I've still managed to negotiate with our support team to help you with this task. ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest