Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:48 pm

Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_spQhSQexsU

Release Notes
http://www.veeam.com/veeam_monitor_4_5_release_notes_rn.pdf

Download
http://www.veeam.com/vmware-esx-monitoring/download.html

If you have any questions about this release, please ask in this thread after reviewing FAQ in the following post.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:49 pm

FAQ

Q: Is it a new purchase to go to version 4.5?
A: With VEEAM, all upgrades are "free" for customers on maintenance (including major releases). All new license purchases include 1 year of maintenance. If you bought Veeam Monitor earlier than 1 year ago, you need to check if you are (and have always been) on maintenance, and thus eligible for free upgrade.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby PDMeat » Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:43 pm

I had a problem on install that I eventually figured out was simply that the Veeam Data Collector service exe file never got swapped. I stopped the VeeamDCS, manually renamed its exe and grabbed the new one from the 4.5 install, restarted the service and it works well now.
PDMeat
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:30 pm
Full Name: Peter Turek

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:24 pm

Peter, thank you very much for reporting the issue and resolution - I am not sure why this did not work for you as a part of the automated upgrade procedure.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby StanleyCup99 » Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:11 pm

Hello,

I have been testing Monitor with an NFR license on v4.0
Can I upgrade to v4.5 in-place, or do i need to request a change to my NFR license?

Thank you for a prompt reply.
StanleyCup99
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:09 pm
Full Name: Polo Hurtado

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:16 pm

Hello Polo,

Monitor 4.5 uses the same license, so feel free to use the same license file for 4.5 for your testing.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:45 pm

Yes, in-place upgrade is fully supported.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby StanleyCup99 » Tue Oct 20, 2009 6:55 pm

Thank you both! I will start testing that version soon, then.
StanleyCup99
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:09 pm
Full Name: Polo Hurtado

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby stones2125 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:48 pm

I had the same issue with the DCS service not getting updated.
For some reason the 4.0 version gets left there and cannot be overwritten till it is renamed. Once it is renamed the new file can be copied over.
stones2125
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:17 pm
Full Name: Matt Shenk

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby stephenbuckton » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:07 am

I installed Veeam Monitor 4.5 onto my Windows 7 PC yesterday, it was a clean install and the PC didn't have any previous versions.

When I try to open the Veeam Monitor I get the error message "Could not connect to Veeam Monitor Server. Please Check Options > General > Veeam Monitor Server". If I check the server settings everything appears fine including the database. I installed SQL Express as part of the install but was already running SQL 2005 Management Studio on my PC.

Any assistance is appreciated
Stephen.
stephenbuckton
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:17 am
Full Name: Stephen Buckton

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Apr 08, 2010 11:42 am

Hi Stephen, please try to re-install on clean OS, sounds like there is some issue with current or previously installed 3rd party software. Install on clean Windows 7 OS works fine (verified). Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby robertb24 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:11 pm

I am having issues installing the 'free' version. I have tried it on Server 2003, Xp and Win 7 and am getting the same error which I think relates to SQL Express on all of them. When creating the database in the monitor setup, I get this error - IDispatch error #3092

Happens on fresh install of SQL as well.

Any ideas what I can do to get it to install the database correctly?

thanks

Rob
robertb24
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:07 pm
Full Name: Robert Bate

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:08 am

Robert,

After you've installed Veeam Monitor, go to MonitorSettings -> Database -> Change Database and try to deploy a new database following that wizard. Should help!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam Monitor 4.5 Released

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Apr 30, 2010 3:03 pm

Please, continue the discussion in the existing topic about this issue to avoid duplicates.
http://www.veeam.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2364&hilit=IDispatch+error+%233092
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests