Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby alexrogi » Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:51 pm

Hi!..

So far, Veeam Monitor works fine with all my ESXi hosts.
Now, I need to configure my VMware servers on Windows hosts.
For that, I have Virtual Center 1.0.4 checking the windows hosts servers where I have VMWare servers VM.

How can I configure the Virtual Center 1.0.4 on Veeam Monitor?.. I alredy configured as:
* Add VC
* then type the user/pass and changed the port to 905 (used by default)

When I click ok, takes about 3 min and says:
"Error Message: The underlying connection was closed. An unexpected error ocurred on a send"

Any ideas?
alexrogi
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:02 pm
Full Name: sas

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby alexrogi » Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:09 pm

Well, after a little research, found that Veeam monitor is actually using the web port to connect to Virtual Center.

So, the port to use is not 905, is the one used to VMware Web Service port.
For VirtualCenter 1.x, the default port number is 8443 and for Virtual Center. 2.x and ESX Server 3.x, the default port number is 443.

But still, does not work.
alexrogi
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:02 pm
Full Name: sas

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Apr 19, 2010 7:33 pm

Hello, unfortunately only vCenter 2.x or later is supported according to the product's System Requirements:
http://www.veeam.com/files/release_note ... _notes.pdf
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby alexrogi » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:28 pm

:(

Ok, lets try this:
Forget the Virtual Center and use each of the VMWare servers directly?..
Use the VMware web-based interface (called the MUI) in each VMWare server instead of using the Virtual Center centralized?..

Any chance?..
alexrogi
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:02 pm
Full Name: sas

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:32 pm

What version of VMware Server do you have?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby alexrogi » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:53 pm

A mix of them, but mostly:
VMWare 1.0.4-56528 and 1.0.6-91891

Any chance?.... :?:
alexrogi
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:02 pm
Full Name: sas

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Apr 20, 2010 12:18 am

No, unfortunately you can only add 2.x to Veeam Monitor.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby alexrogi » Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:04 pm

Tried and work sucesfully with VMWare Server 2.0.2!!..

Just remember, when add VMWare servers, add them as ESXI, use your Domain\account with admin rights, put Password and use port 8333

So, we will have to move to VMWare Server 2.0.2 and ESXI, (both free) and drop Virtual Center (at least for monitoring VM).
alexrogi
Influencer
 
Posts: 15
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:02 pm
Full Name: sas

Re: Veeam Monitor and Virtual Center Error connection.

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:29 pm

Correct, Server 2.x works fine, just a few metrics unavailable...
I've used it to monitor my own lab back when I had it running on VMware Server 2.0
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests