veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Veeam Logoby vdirk » Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:38 pm

Hello,

is there a way to ignore alarms, I have no redundant power supply and it generates alarms on this.
The other hardware info I want to know but not the power supply.

If there is a way to ignore it or even better don't see it at all, it would be great.

thx
vdirk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:33 pm

Re: veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:22 am

Hello Dirk,

Could you please clarify what rule have you specified in the advanced settings for this alarm? Additionally, could you please tell what is the current status (red/unknown) for redundant power supply sensor in the Veeam Monitor console?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Veeam Logoby vdirk » Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:49 pm

Thank you for reply.

I have used the default alarm set for hardware monitoring without manipuating it.
I have looked for making individual alarms for eah sub of hardware but haven't find it.
I'm using the free version of monitor.
The status of the led is red.
vdirk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:33 pm

Re: veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:24 pm

Oh... I see. Unfortunately, there is no possibility to define alarms on particular hardware sensor, so we would trigger the alarm on every sensor that goes red. As a workaround, I believe there should be a possibility to disable this hardware sensor from ESX host's config file in order not to be reported on this sensor at all.

But thank you for the feedback, I will add this feature request to our feature tracker for next releases.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Veeam Logoby vdirk » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:29 am

Ok, thx.

Any idea how to edit the ESX host config file ?
vdirk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:33 pm

Re: veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:08 am

I'm not quite sure about your particular sensor, but I've configured my Power Sensors by following the instructions provided in this article:
http://vsphere-land.com/news/update-on-vsphere-41-power-settings-from-my-tidbits-post.html
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: veeam monitor - ignore alarms

Veeam Logoby vdirk » Fri Oct 01, 2010 5:48 pm

Thx,
but I coan't find the sensor for redundancy, looks like only watts are monitored there.
Searched a lot by putty on esxi but seems hard to find that nformation.
Even in bios or ipmi settings I can't disable it ...

Hoping for soltion ...
vdirk
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:33 pm


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dflood and 3 guests