Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server

Veeam Logoby michag » Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:53 am

Hi,

I installed Veeam Monitor Free Edition today, to test the application.
I installed it on my VC server.
I can monitor the local VC without problem.
But I also tried to get information from some standalone ESXi servers.
I get the error message "Connection problem not responding".
Since I can connect to this Server with VI client from this server, I started some researches and found out, that the server tries to connect to the ESX server via the local proxy server. The server should try to connect directly to the server.
I can't find any settings regarding using proxy, or not using proxyserver. So I'm not sure where the (I think Collector service) is taking this information.

I already tried disabling the proxy in InternetExplorer and restarted the service, still the same.
Has someone a resolution for this?
michag
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Sep 28, 2009 12:47 pm

Hello, what error do you get when right-clicking the host and selecting Get Error Message in both cases (with and without IE proxy setting)?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21512
Liked: 2381 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server

Veeam Logoby michag » Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:16 pm

Hi, I checked the error message.

With disabled proxy in IE I get this message
"Der Remoteserver hat einen Fehler zurückgegeben: (503) Server nicht verfügbar" sorry, its a German windows.
I can also see see a connect on the proxyserver.

I get the same message when I enable the proxy in IE.

I don't know where Veeam Monitor gets the information to use a proxy.
michag
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server

Veeam Logoby michag » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:24 am

Thats what I found in my logfile:
Code: Select all
09/29/09 11:00:16 Inform  0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Collecting thread starts for host #40"
09/29/09 11:00:16 Inform  0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Connecting to DB VeeamMonitor at dert-sv025\VEEAM. Local host is dert-sv025."
09/29/09 11:00:16 Inform  0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Connecting to host"
09/29/09 11:00:16 Inform  0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Creating host accessor. Proposed version id is 0"
09/29/09 11:00:16 Inform  0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Opening URL 'https://172.16.0.20:443/client/clients.xml'"
09/29/09 11:00:16 Error   0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Unable to load/parse clients.xml: Der Remoteserver hat einen Fehler zurückgegeben: (503) Server nicht verfügbar."
09/29/09 11:00:16 Error   0x1144 172.16.0.20   "XML Content:
(null)"
09/29/09 11:00:16 Error   0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Connect to host failed - Der Remoteserver hat einen Fehler zurückgegeben: (503) Server nicht verfügbar."
09/29/09 11:00:16 Warning 0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Collecting thread has failed to initialize and will be stopped"
09/29/09 11:00:16 Inform  0x1144 172.16.0.20   "Collecting thread exits"
michag
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server

Veeam Logoby michag » Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:47 am

Hi,

I think I found a solution, or lets say a workaround.
It looks like veeam monitor uses the internet settings from internet explorer. We have a group policy deploying proxy settings to all users.
I'm not a windows expert, so I don't know how the local system account retries the proxy settings.

I now changed the user under which the service should run to the admin account, where I tested the IE before. So I can connect toe the VC within IE without problems.
After that I restarted the collector service and all looks fine now.
michag
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:42 am

Re: Veeam Monitor tries to connect to ESX via proxy server

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:03 pm

Thanks a lot for updating the topic with resolution, glad it works for you now!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21512
Liked: 2381 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest