Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
mchupin
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 08, 2014 9:14 am
Full Name: Maxim
Contact:

Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by mchupin »

Hello!

Case # 00598397

I installed Veeam One for monitoring Hyper-V hosts. We have several Hyper-V hosts in out organisation. Everything was ok, but recently I see that Veeam ONE stopped collect CPU and Memory data from some VMs located on different hosts. Besides Veeam continues display some VM's CPU and Memort absolutely normal. Other data is continue collect normally for all VMs- Network, Disk, Events. Host's CPU and Memory data is OK anytime.

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Maxim,

What is common between VMs (dynamic memory or any other config) you can`t get CPU and Memory metrics from?
Can you see those VM metrics on your Hyper-V servers via Hyper-V manager or perfmon?

Nikita

mchupin
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 08, 2014 9:14 am
Full Name: Maxim
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by mchupin »

Hyper-V manager display CPU and memory normally for all VMs.
I can't see those metrics via perfmon because I have Hyper-V Servers.

There are different VMs for which I can't get CPU and Memory metrics. Those VMs hosted on Hyper-V Server 2008R2 and 2012R2, some of them has dynamic memory, some - static. I don't see any common settings between those VMs.

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by Shestakov »

Despite having Hyper-V Servers you still can try to use performance monitor remotely. Can you open perfmon on another machine and click "Add counters" to obtain an information from the host you are interested in? For instance, you can find a data about VM CPU state adding counter "% Total Run Time" in a counter group "Hyper-V Hypervision Virtual Processor".

What did Veeam support say after reviewing your logs?

mchupin
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 08, 2014 9:14 am
Full Name: Maxim
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by mchupin »

I runned logman counter on problem Hyper-V hosts and get values for all VMs for the next metrics: "Guest Visible Physical Memory", "Physical Memory", "Hyper-V Hypervisor Virtual Processor(*)\% Guest Run Time", "Hyper-V Hypervisor Virtual Processor(*)\% Total Run Time", Hyper-V Hypervisor Logical Processor(*)\% Guest Run Time, Hyper-V Hypervisor Logical Processor(*)\% Total Run Time.

All the time CPU alarms work normally.

Veeam support offer to hold a webex.

Shestakov
Expert
Posts: 7328
Liked: 773 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by Shestakov »

Please proceed troubleshooting with Veeam support on webex.
I`ll keep the situation in a hand.
Thank you

mchupin
Influencer
Posts: 13
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 08, 2014 9:14 am
Full Name: Maxim
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by mchupin » 1 person likes this post

Veeam support is really great!
Issue appears when you rename VM and then don't reload VM. For example, I have old name - ch-dc0, new name - ch-dc0.contoso.com. After rename perfmon gets metrics for ch-dc0, but Veeam ONE wants to get metrics for ch-dc0.contoso.com, which is null.
Restart VM solve the problem

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 24260
Liked: 1864 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam ONE doesn't collect CPU and Memory

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Maxim, thanks for the update, I will pass your kind words to our technical support team.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests