Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

virtual machines dissapearing

Post by mmmcc666 »

I've just installed veeam monitor free version and have connected to 9 esxi servers. The problem is that the virtual machines seem to appear and dissapear randomly.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Mike

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

Hello Mike, the most likely reason is that your ESXi hosts have the same hostnames (I am not talking about DNS names, but about hostnames configured in the ESXi settings). Sometimes people leave those intact after installation, so as a result some of your ESXi hosts may have the same, default name.

Hope this helps.

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

Thanks for the quick reply.
Are you talking about the hostname that can be seen on the text console, configure management network?

Thanks,
Mike

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

That is correct.

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

They're set up to be vm1.telecity, vm2.telecity, vm3.telecity etc.
Currently vm3 and vm7's resources containers are empty but when i pressed refresh a few minutes ago i could see the virtual machines.

Thanks,
Mike

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

I thought i'd mention that if i click on "virtual infrastructure" at the top of the tree on the left of the monitor client, the number beside "virtual machines" on the detail pane fluctuates constantly.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

OK, I will need to ask devs on what to check next.

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

thanks :)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

Hello mmmcc666, could you please do the following.

1) Run the command listed below on your Veeam Monitor server
2) Wait for some VM to appear or disappear
3) Run the same command again (with different output file name)
4) Send both output files to support@veeam.com

sqlcmd –S localhost\VEEAM -d Monitor -Q “select * from infrastructureâ€Â

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

I forgot to mention that I emailed what you suggested on friday.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

Hello mmmcc666, yes we have got them, and devs have reviewed this morning.

Apparently you ESX servers UUIDs (uniquie identificators) are somewhat not unique :)
In fact, they look to be manually created, and they are exactly identical across all ESX servers: (00020003-0004-0005-0006-000700080009)

This is exactly what is causing this issue.
Hope this helps!

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

Thanks for that.
How would i go about regenerating them? Or is there something else i could do?

Mike

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

Are your ESX servers virtual? Is it some kind of test lab?

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

No they're real appro blade servers.
I'm installing the veeam monitor on one of the virtual machines. Would that effect it?

Thanks,
Mike

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26678
Liked: 4268 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev »

No, installing Veeam Monitor on virtual machine is fine.

I have Googled on your UUID and it seems to be a common problem for servers to be shipped with malformed UUIDs. Looks like the root cause is your actual vendor not branding the OEM servers before shipping them to you (as they should).

By the way, judging on the amount of search results, this issue affects a lot of systems management application (like SCOM for instance), so I would suggest that you address it anyway.

This looks to be a good description on how you should proceed to resolve this:
http://forum.fujitsu-siemens.de/forum/v ... 0&p=109943

Hope this helps.

mmmcc666
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by mmmcc666 »

Thanks for all your help.
Hopefully the manufacturer will be able to help us.

Cheers,
Mike

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests