VM console x86

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

VM console x86

Veeam Logoby sferrand » Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:47 pm

Hi,

Just upgraded to v9 and now when I try to use the Console it says "VM console is available only in x86 Veeam ONE Monitor Client version"

My desktop is Windows 10/64 and the ONE server is Windows 2012 R2/64

How do I get Console to work?

Thanks,
SteveF
sferrand
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:43 pm
Full Name: Steve Ferrandino

Re: VM console x86

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 15, 2016 9:48 am

Hi Steve,

Veeam ONE now uses x64 bit Monitor Client for scalability reasons. Since VMware does not have a console client for x64 systems, it is not available in Veeam ONE either. However, you can browse our ISO image and manually install x86 bit Monitor Client. In this case you will have a console access to your VMs again.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VM console x86

Veeam Logoby sferrand » Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:35 pm

Hi,

I had tried that. And I just tried again.

Trying to launch \monitor\Veeam_monitor_cln_x86.msi complains "Local Administrator privileges are required to install the product"

There's no right-click "run as administrator"

Troubleshoot Compatibility doesn't give an option to change the msi to "run as administrator"

From an elevated command prompt I tried "msiexec /a veeam_monitor_cln_x86.msi". This requires a network drive that it installs a "server image" of ONE. Unfortunately, the veeam_monitor_cln_x86.msi there also fails with "Local Administrator privileges are required to install the product"

And, yes, my account is in the Administrators group on the machine (not domain joined or anything like that)

Any other ideas?
sferrand
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:43 pm
Full Name: Steve Ferrandino

Re: VM console x86

Veeam Logoby sferrand » Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:42 pm 1 person likes this post

Ok. After some Googling I found a way to install:

From Elevated Command prompt, just run the Veeam_monitor_cln_x86.msi don't try to msiexec it just type the command

Hopefully this will save someone else some time

SteveF
sferrand
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:43 pm
Full Name: Steve Ferrandino

Re: VM console x86

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:57 pm

Steve, thanks for the update and posting your solution.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests