vSphere 5 withoud AD

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby rct » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:11 pm

Hello !

We have a vCenter 5 Appliance (Suse 11) configured without Active Directory (we don't have one) and it seems that Veeam Monitor is unable to login the vCenter in this situation.

Is there a way to register our vCenter anyway ?

Thx
rct
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:46 pm

Hello,

Hmm...that's interesting. Have you tried adding vCenter Server via HOSTNAME\USER_NAME? For the hostname please specify vCenter Server machine name.

Thanks.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby rct » Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:07 pm

Hello,

Yes my machine is named vcenter01.XXXXXXXX.com
I've tried to specify "vcenter01\root" but it doesn't work. In my vCenter appliance I tried to rename the server from "vcenter01.XXXXXXXX.com" to "vcenter01". Wasn't better.
Does someone has this behaviour with vCenter 5 appliance without AD ?

Thx for the answer, i'm interested in any feedback.
rct
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:53 pm

I have passed this information to our R&D team, we'll investigate what can be done here and I will post it back.

By the way, out of curiosity how large is your infrastructure (hosts/VMs)?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby warix » Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:13 am

Hello

Sorry for my post but I'm not this problem

So what is your error message

For me I introduce my vcenter name in thé host file of my veeam sever and veeam name in host of my vcenter

And try with up adress
warix
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 42
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby rct » Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:14 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:I have passed this information to our R&D team, we'll investigate what can be done here and I will post it back.

By the way, out of curiosity how large is your infrastructure (hosts/VMs)?


Our vCenter 5 infrastructure is 3 hosts and 30 VMs.
Thx for the answer.

warix wrote:Hello

Sorry for my post but I'm not this problem

So what is your error message

For me I introduce my vcenter name in thé host file of my veeam sever and veeam name in host of my vcenter

And try with up adress


It seems that your configuration don't work for me. My DNS servers are configured on both Veeam server and vCenter server so I don't think it would resolve this problem :(
Thx anyway.

The error message in Veeam is : "Cannot complete login due to an incorrect user name or password."
In the vCenter /var/log/messages I see another error that I think is related : "vcenter01 vpxd: pam_tally(vmware-authd:auth): pam_get_uid; no such user"
rct
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:22 am

Rct, we'll have a hotfix addressing this issue next week. I will update this topic once it is available. Thanks for the heads up!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby rct » Fri Sep 30, 2011 11:26 am

Nice !

Thx
rct
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:06 pm

The hotfix which allows adding vCenter Server appliance without AD integration enabled is now available through our support team. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby rct » Tue Oct 04, 2011 9:22 am

Thx to you !
rct
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 35
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:07 pm

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby tcoskun » Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:33 pm

I installed veeam monitor v 5.0.0.261, still get the same error! will there be another update for this?
tcoskun
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:31 pm
Full Name: Turgut COSKUN

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby Vitaly.Mzokov » Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Turgut,

Please contact our support team to get the hotfix file. Thanks.
Vitaly.Mzokov
Expert
 
Posts: 173
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:30 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Mzokov

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:12 pm

Turgut, it doesn't look like you've applied the latest hotfix which is available solely from our support team. The version you've downloaded from our website doesn't fix this problem. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: vSphere 5 withoud AD

Veeam Logoby tcoskun » Mon Jan 30, 2012 7:35 am

I installed the latest hotfix and the problem is solved, thanks for help.
tcoskun
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:31 pm
Full Name: Turgut COSKUN

Veeam Monitor with vCenter Appliance?

Veeam Logoby smile_dav » Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:00 am

[merged]

Hi,

I have just migrated from our Windows based vCenter to the vSphere v5 vCenter appliance, however, I couldn't add my vCenter to Veeam Monitor: when I enter the username field cannot recognize HOSTNAME\USERNAME or USERNAME. Apart from adding each ESXi host separately, are there any solutions to this?
smile_dav
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 44
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:47 am

Next

Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests