Which VMs are causing latency?

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Which VMs are causing latency?

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:36 pm

I have Monitor set up and running great. Once in a while I get an alert that the read or white latency on a specific datastore and/or host has exceeded the default 100ms threshold (our rickety SAN is being overtaxed and will soon been replaced with a newer model)... but I can't seem to figure out how to use that info to find out what *VMs* on the identified host are actually causing the excessive I/Os and increasing my latency.

I realize it's possible that "a bunch of VMs all did something at the same time" and thus the entire I/O capacity of the storage is being exceeded without a specific VM being the culprit, but is there a way to know for sure? Can someone point me in the right direction on how to investigate "what" is causing the latency beyond which host and datastore I get alerted-to?
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

Re: Which VMs are causing latency?

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:46 pm

Hi Jim,

Can you please tell me if you've tried using a "Stack by Virtual Machines" view that is available on each datastore that should give you exactly what you're after?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Which VMs are causing latency?

Veeam Logoby pufferdude » Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:51 pm

Nope! Hadn't managed to find that one. Perfect! Thanks for the quick response.
pufferdude
Expert
 
Posts: 126
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:26 pm
Full Name: Jim

"Stack by Virtual Machines" view ? ? ?

Veeam Logoby f.daoulas » Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:01 am

Hello,

I use Veeam one 6.5 free edition.
I can't find "Stack by Virtual Machines" view. Is this one available in the free version ? ?

Rgds.
Fabrice.
f.daoulas
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:56 pm
Location: Geneva (Switzerland)
Full Name: Fabrice Daoulas

Re: Which VMs are causing latency?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:21 am

Hi, Fabrice. I’ve just checked it out with our Free license, and "Stack by Virtual Machine" option seems to be there.

Image

Hope this helps.
Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests