Wrong info in Vmware Monitor (Trial Version)

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Wrong info in Vmware Monitor (Trial Version)

Veeam Logoby jsehmi » Sat May 15, 2010 12:20 am

I just downloaded the latest version of VMWare Monitor 4.5.0.189 and am trying to do a demo to my management. Unfortunately, the info shown about the host is incorrect. I have only 2 HBAs (single-port) on the hosts and the monitor is reporting 5. Also, how can I see the network utilisation on all the NICs/ vSwitches. This only gives me an average on the host. Would like to know who is using this as an enterprise monitoring tool, since the information provided is not detailed enough.
jsehmi
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:11 am
Full Name: Jagdeep Sehmi

Re: Wrong info in Vmware Monitor (Trial Version)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon May 17, 2010 10:10 am

Hello Jagdeep,

Could you please provide us with the screenshots so we could see how HBAs are reported by Monitor and vSphere Client? As for per network device utilization please select Counters and choose a device you would like to see.

Hope it helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Wrong info in Vmware Monitor (Trial Version)

Veeam Logoby jsehmi » Mon May 17, 2010 5:13 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hello Jagdeep,

Could you please provide us with the screenshots so we could see how HBAs are reported by Monitor and vSphere Client? As for per network device utilization please select Counters and choose a device you would like to see.

Hope it helps!
Well the 5 HBAs include the local IDE/ Smart Array and the FC controllers. I guess it is not a problem, Veeam does not mention how many Fibre HBAs are installed. Also, there are no options available to select either vSwitches or vmnics in 'Counters for Network'.
jsehmi
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:11 am
Full Name: Jagdeep Sehmi

Re: Wrong info in Vmware Monitor (Trial Version)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 18, 2010 9:15 am

Hm... could you please describe what objects do you see on devices list while choosing Select counters on Cluster/ESX host network tab?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests