Discussions specific to the Nutanix AHV hypervisor
Post Reply
Coldfirex
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 22, 2015 1:41 pm
Full Name: Alan Shearer
Contact:

Upgrades

Post by Coldfirex » Dec 05, 2018 4:30 pm 1 person likes this post

Howdy,
Are there plans for future upgrades to not have to redeploy a fresh VM and restore settings? We would much rather just run an update if possible.
Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16789
Liked: 1410 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Upgrades

Post by veremin » Dec 05, 2018 4:56 pm

Currently we cannot comment about future releases. So for now the practice is likely to stay the same: back configuration up, redeploy new version of appliance and restore previously backed up configuration. Thanks!

cbussy
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 19, 2018 7:51 am
Full Name: CHRISTOPHE BUSSY
Contact:

Re: Upgrades

Post by cbussy » Dec 19, 2018 7:56 am

Hello all,
I confirm that this upgrade procedure is not enterprise proof.
Today I have only 4 AHV clusters to backup with Veeam, but have already 4 VMs to manually backup/recreate/restore.
If tomorrow I have 10, 20 AHV clusters I'll have 10, 20 VMs to maintain this way ?
Seriously ?
Christophe BUSSY

ericschott
Product Manager
Posts: 89
Liked: 30 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2017 3:49 pm
Full Name: Eric Schott
Contact:

Re: Upgrades

Post by ericschott » Dec 19, 2018 11:56 am

We are looking into improvements for future releases.

Thank you for the feedback.

shane.sfx
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 24, 2019 2:35 am
Full Name: Shane Hannant
Contact:

Re: Upgrades

Post by shane.sfx » Jan 24, 2019 2:42 am

Agree regarding having to reprovision an appliance each time there is an update.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests