Discussions specific to the Nutanix AHV hypervisor
Post Reply
Didi7
Expert
Posts: 399
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am
Location: Hypervisor
Contact:

VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Didi7 »

Hi,

speaking of restoring VMware VMs directly from a VBR repository to AHV ... how are Generation 2 Hyper-V disks restored from a VBR repository? Generation 2 Hyper-V disks are SCSI (by default) ... how does VBR restore them to AHV, specifically when they have EFI-partitions.

Can VBR 10 with VAN 2.0 plugin, restore Hyper-V Generation 2 VMs with EFI-partitions to an AHV cluster without further hassle?

Regards,
Didi7
Using the most recent Veeam B&R in 23 different environments now and counting!

dzverev
Veeam Software
Posts: 2
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Sep 05, 2019 9:31 am
Full Name: Dmitry Zverev
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by dzverev » 2 people like this post

Hello @Didi7,

When you restore Gen2 VM to nutanix, its disks will be connected to Sata interface. Further you will need to power off restored VM(if it was powered on) and change boot type to UEFI in VM parameters in PRISM.

After you do so, VM can be properly started and will work.

P.S. UEFI option became available approximately in 5.11 version of AOS. If you use some older verion of AOS, you shoud connect to your CVM, and then, use a command like this:
acli vm.update <vm-name> uefi_boot=True

After that, VM will be able to properly load.

bk@virtualtn.com
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 36
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 10, 2015 2:13 pm
Full Name: BILKAM
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by bk@virtualtn.com »

Hello,
In the Full VM restore wizard, I have specified the network mapping but the restored VM is created without a network card.
So we need to perform 3 actions after VM restore: add vNIC, change default values CPU RAM and install NGT.
Could you please confirm ?

Regards,
BILKAM
BILKAM
vinception.fr

ronnmartin61
Veeam Software
Posts: 86
Liked: 24 times
Joined: Mar 07, 2016 3:55 pm
Full Name: Ronn Martin
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by ronnmartin61 »

@bk@virtualtn.com Correct. You'll need to update the default compute settings, add the VirtIO network driver and optionally install NGT.

I'm assuming you mean the Restore-to AHV full restore to convert to a non-AHV backup to Nutanix. Nutanix AHV-native Veeam backups should still be restored in the Veeam Backup & Replication AHV Backup Proxy web UI which preserves original VM settings.

bk@virtualtn.com
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 36
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 10, 2015 2:13 pm
Full Name: BILKAM
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by bk@virtualtn.com »

Correct: restore VM VMware backup to AHV cluster.
So why I need to specified the network mapping if in any case it will be connected ?
BILKAM
vinception.fr

Kochkin
Veeam Software
Posts: 31
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2014 10:10 am
Full Name: Nikolai Kochkin
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Kochkin »

That is a known bug. Please contact support if you need a prviate fix.

Didi7
Expert
Posts: 399
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am
Location: Hypervisor
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Didi7 »

dzverev wrote:
Apr 02, 2020 5:04 pm
Hello @Didi7,

When you restore Gen2 VM to nutanix, its disks will be connected to Sata interface. Further you will need to power off restored VM(if it was powered on) and change boot type to UEFI in VM parameters in PRISM.
Hi dzverev,

is it possible to re-attach the disks from SATA- to SCSI-interface somehow?

Regards,
Didi7
Using the most recent Veeam B&R in 23 different environments now and counting!

Kochkin
Veeam Software
Posts: 31
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2014 10:10 am
Full Name: Nikolai Kochkin
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Kochkin »

Disk type can be changed after restore in AHV web ui

Didi7
Expert
Posts: 399
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am
Location: Hypervisor
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Didi7 »

Hello Kochkin,

thanks for the info. I will give it a try in a test scenario soon and will post my experiences in detail.

Regards,
Didi7
Using the most recent Veeam B&R in 23 different environments now and counting!

Kochkin
Veeam Software
Posts: 31
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2014 10:10 am
Full Name: Nikolai Kochkin
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Kochkin »

Thanks!

May I ask why SCSI is critical for you? I want to better understand the usecase.

Didi7
Expert
Posts: 399
Liked: 41 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2014 8:09 am
Location: Hypervisor
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Didi7 »

Kochkin wrote:
May 06, 2020 9:33 am
Disk type can be changed after restore in AHV web ui
Really? To me it seems, as if this change from SATA to SCSI is not possible, as it is grayed out. I created a Test-VM within the Acropolis Hypervisor with a SATA HDD, the VM is powered-off. Trying to change the Bus-type to SCSI is not possible, instead Nutanix advises to create a Snapshot and clone the HDD to convert it to SCSI?

How did you manage to change the bus type from the Web UI?

Regards,
Didi7
Using the most recent Veeam B&R in 23 different environments now and counting!

Kochkin
Veeam Software
Posts: 31
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Sep 18, 2014 10:10 am
Full Name: Nikolai Kochkin
Contact:

Re: VMware to AHV Restore

Post by Kochkin »

My bad, it can be done only via cloning as you described.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest