Discussions specific to the Nutanix AHV hypervisor
Post Reply
farhanparkar
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 09, 2019 7:52 am
Full Name: Farhan Parkar
Contact:

Why license swap need Veeam Enterprise Plus

Post by farhanparkar » May 09, 2019 7:57 am

Hello Veeam Team,

Why the license swap from Veeam B&R for vSphere or Hyper-V needs to be Enterprise plus to convert it to AHV, the enterprise plus it self is costing a huge uplift cost which void any cost saving of going to AHV. Is there any way to swap license or exchange to AHV without upgrading to enterprise plus. Any thoughts...

F>P

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 3698
Liked: 441 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Why license swap need Veeam Enterprise Plus

Post by HannesK » May 09, 2019 3:02 pm

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

Please contact your Veeam partner. According to the FAQ, there are other options.
Customers have far more choices for VAN than ever before with VIL. VAN can now be ordered with VAS, VBR and VBE SKUs for Standard, Enterprise or Enterprise Plus Editions. This new offering enables customers to purchase the SKU and edition that matches their current Veeam centralized management environment.
Best regards,
Hannes

farhanparkar
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 09, 2019 7:52 am
Full Name: Farhan Parkar
Contact:

Re: Why license swap need Veeam Enterprise Plus

Post by farhanparkar » May 11, 2019 7:44 pm

Dear HanneshK,
I am indeed working with Veeam Partner and feeling disappointed with our Veeam channel team now, I had incident where customer migrated to AHV and our Veeam channel insisted not only uplift to enterprise plus but also to 24 x 7 support, according to channel Veeam for Nutanix AHV only supports 24 x 7.. the cost of uplifting goes same as buying new licenses for AHV.
Either the channel team is misleding us for higher sales or is uneducated in licensing changes.

F>P

Jumario
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 02, 2017 2:00 pm
Full Name: Stefan Juma Søndergård
Contact:

Re: Why license swap need Veeam Enterprise Plus

Post by Jumario » May 13, 2019 8:52 am

Hi farhanparkar,

I've just been though the same calclulations where the mandatory Veeam license upgrade makes the Vsphere -> AHV business case way less attractive which is unfortunate.

Depending on the number of VM's you need to back up, you can consider getting a quote on converting your socket based vSphere licenses to instance based which may be cheaper than doing the enterprise plus update. (But it will still have a cost)

/Stefan

btmaher
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2018 2:36 pm
Full Name: Brian Thomas Maher
Contact:

Re: Why license swap need Veeam Enterprise Plus

Post by btmaher » May 13, 2019 1:10 pm

Initially we started with ENT+ only for VAN, and for customers that could not use the proxy we allowed agent use (both are ENT+ pricing).

As it was mention above, we have recently changed this that they can also order standard, or enterprise editions, but at the ratio tables (ie it still costs ENT+ because of the ratios). This will be attractive for customers not wanting to upgrade they entire environment to ENT+. The customer can still use agents instead of proxy as needed. We have the case that there can be double counting if both the agent and proxy are in use for a VM, and sales can make this right by temporarily providing additional VIL licenses (at the ratio) for customer agent use (customer needs to request this).

For V2, this will continue, and if the VBR and proxy changes are completed, we will not have the double counting issue.
- If things also go right, for V2, we plan to have socket licenses (again at ENT+).

As to pricing, sales can discount if needed, and we need to track how much they are unwilling to, losses. This would help guide if we have to have a policy/pricing/leveling discussion for AHV.

Brian

farhanparkar
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: May 09, 2019 7:52 am
Full Name: Farhan Parkar
Contact:

Re: Why license swap need Veeam Enterprise Plus

Post by farhanparkar » May 16, 2019 5:38 pm

Dear btmaher,

Thanks for the detailed reply, it is possible to convert the per CPU license (perpetual) to instance license and use is with NUtanix AHV, as well as during migration phase.

F>P

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest