Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
Post Reply
bmac0002001
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 07, 2019 12:56 am
Full Name: Bruce McDonald
Contact:

How to replicate on prem backups to Amazon S3

Post by bmac0002001 »

This sounds pretty straightforward but not sure how it works in Veeam. I'm fairly new to Veeam and what our business wants to do, is simply copy the on prem backups to S3. So, have 2 copies, an on-site and off-site. Is this possible in Veeam? We're running latest version 9.5 update 4.

Having a look at Veeam there is a copy job process, this looks to be what we need which would run in addition to daily VM/SQL and file backup jobs. I've tried to create a bucket in S3 an add this both as a backup repository and external repository and neither does the trick. With the backup repository, the S3 bucket is added but when creating the copy job process it is not available as a backup storage option. Trying to add an external repository to S3, I cannot even get past adding the S3 bucket, it cannot see the folder I've created in S3.

This is either really simple and I am missing something bleeding obvious or this type if setup is natively not supported yet in Veeam. I've seen mention of scale-out backup repository coming in the next version and perhaps that is what I need but I thought I would ask if there is a way to do what I require, natively in Veeam. If it cannot be done natively in Veeam how would I go about achieving this? Thank you.
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14314
Liked: 2887 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: How to replicate on prem backups to Amazon S3

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

long story short: the "copy" feature will be available with the next release (V10, planned for end of the year). Today, it's a "move old backups" only, no copy.

Best regards,
Hannes
bmac0002001
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 07, 2019 12:56 am
Full Name: Bruce McDonald
Contact:

Re: How to replicate on prem backups to Amazon S3

Post by bmac0002001 »

Thanks for the reply HannesK. Looks like I'll have to wait until the EOY.
a13xch1
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 21, 2020 12:55 pm
Full Name: Arex Chi
Contact:

Re: How to replicate on prem backups to Amazon S3

Post by a13xch1 »

Morning,

I am unable to find this feature in V10, the options I have remain the same at in v9.5 update 4. I'd the feature in a different place?
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Posts: 31509
Liked: 6691 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to replicate on prem backups to Amazon S3

Post by Gostev »

That is strange. Can you please share a screenshot of the Capacity Tier step of the scale-out repository wizard? Thanks!
rech.robert
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 18, 2009 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: How to replicate on prem backups to Amazon S3

Post by rech.robert »

Has this functionality been officially added to 10?
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14314
Liked: 2887 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: How to replicate on prem backups to Amazon S3

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
yes we added it... https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=100

Best regards,
Hannes
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests