Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
Post Reply
nathanrsafti
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2022 4:48 pm
Full Name: Nathan
Contact:

Since upgrading to V12, SOBR Offload is stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources"

Post by nathanrsafti » 1 person likes this post

I did open a case for this (05878826).

Since the ugprade to V12, we have not been able to upload data to our Wasabi S3 repository from one of our two Veeam servers. The offload always gets stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources". Then it finally times out after 4 hours for each VM. I wonder if the fix is something simple, as we have another Veeam server on V12 that is uploading to Wasabi using a different bucket with no issues.

The only change made to both of the Veeam servers was upgrading the backup chain formats for the source backup jobs. There was an error trying to use the new V12 backup copy jobs without upgrading the source backup chain formats first.

No other offload, backup, or backup copy job is running at the same time as this one offload job.

According to the RTS.ResourcesUsage.log file, no resources are being used.

Restarting the Windows server doesn't change the result. I tried rescanning the SOBR, which ended with the scan "skipping" all 29 VMs backed up to the performance and capacity extents. Curiously, the "used space" reported on the capacity extent is significantly less than expected, about 72GB instead of 15TB.

#Edited by Mod: replaced contract number with support case number
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 8341
Liked: 2171 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Since upgrading to V12, SOBR Offload is stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources"

Post by Mildur »

Hi Nathan

Thanks for the contract/case number.

I see that you have a webex session scheduled with our support engineer.
My suggestion is to wait for the outcome of the webex session.

Thanks,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
nathanrsafti
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2022 4:48 pm
Full Name: Nathan
Contact:

Re: Since upgrading to V12, SOBR Offload is stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources"

Post by nathanrsafti » 4 people like this post

As a troubleshooting step, the support engineer directed me to switch the connection mode on the object storage repository from Direct to Gateway and check the boxes next to the repository server's DNS name and FQDN. Veeam is now offloading backups properly again with that setting change.
xiangwu
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 22, 2023 10:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Since upgrading to V12, SOBR Offload is stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources"

Post by xiangwu »

I had same problem. Thank you for the post.
johnwatson
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2021 7:42 pm
Full Name: John Watson
Contact:

Re: Since upgrading to V12, SOBR Offload is stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources"

Post by johnwatson »

Thanks Nathan for posting the fix.

This fix will also fix Backup Copy jobs to Wasabi/S3 where the job hangs at "Waiting for backup infrastructure resources availability"

Also fixes jobs that are hung at transferring at 0 KB/s
nathanrsafti
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Nov 07, 2022 4:48 pm
Full Name: Nathan
Contact:

Re: Since upgrading to V12, SOBR Offload is stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources"

Post by nathanrsafti »

Glad to help. The engineer is still looking into what might be the root cause.

We have several Linux backup proxies (which do have internet access) attached to the problematic repository server. I am speculating that when the S3 repository is set to Direct, Veeam may be trying to use those to connect to object storage and is experiencing a hangup somewhere.
ACarter
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 26, 2023 4:29 pm
Full Name: Adam Carter
Contact:

Re: Since upgrading to V12, SOBR Offload is stuck on "Waiting for backup repository resources"

Post by ACarter »

I had the same issue after updating to V12, and Nathan's troubleshooting step solved it for me as well. Thanks!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest