Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
Post Reply
bostjanQ
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 22, 2019 8:55 pm
Full Name: Bostjan Cvelbar
Contact:

Veeam B&R (cloud connect) backup to wasabi deleting backups

Post by bostjanQ »

Hi.
Sorry if I maybe missed the correct forum category, but do you guys maybe know if Veeam Cloud Provider can delete specific backups in object storage repository?

For example as a VCP backing up clients workststions with agents to cloud (WASABI), can you eventually delete obsolete backups (for example 1 out of 5 already backed up workstations)? Or you can delete only entire repository and start from scratch?

Thank you.
Mildur
Product Manager
Posts: 9146
Liked: 2407 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R (cloud connect) backup to wasabi deleting backups

Post by Mildur »

Hello Bostjan

Deleting directly from object storage is not possible by the service provider himself. We don't have backup files on object storage and it is not supported to manually delete objects from the bucket. The service provider cannot see on object storage which objects belong to which agent backup. A support case would be required.

A Veeam Cloud Connect provider can delete agent backups when he deletes a backup job for this agent.
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/vac/p ... tml?ver=70

The service provider cannot delete a single agent backup if the agents are managed by your own backup server. In such scenario, you as the customer can delete a backup.

May I ask, why you are asking this question?


Best,
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
bostjanQ
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 22, 2019 8:55 pm
Full Name: Bostjan Cvelbar
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R (cloud connect) backup to wasabi deleting backups

Post by bostjanQ »

Hi.
Thank you for reply.
We are in the middle of implementing Veeam Cloud Connect in production, and we had an open question what will we do in scenario/use case when a customer will have 5 workstations backed up into Wasabi, and what will happen when 1 out of 5 worksations will no longer need backups and how we will delete that backup for legacy workstation in Wasabi.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests