Discussions specific to object storage
Post Reply
fafa24
Enthusiast
Posts: 66
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm
Contact:

Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by fafa24 » Jan 17, 2019 4:25 pm

Hello,

My question is related to Update 4 which I installed yesterday. Today I wanted to add AWS S3 as an external repository. I went through the wizard. The first two screen went fine. Account was verified. At scrren 3 (account) it shows correctly the Data Center region, I can select my available bucket(s), I need to select a folder. I click the browse button, and there is my problem I have no choice for a folder.

I created in the S3 management Console for my bucket a folder. In the permission screen, ACL, "Your AWS account" has all column with YES.

Any idea why the folder is not showm in the Veeam console?

Thanks
Edy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24303
Liked: 3332 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 17, 2019 6:14 pm

Hello Edy, can you please clarify what are you trying to do?

This particular functionality is designed for importing an Amazon S3 bucket that contains Veeam backups created by other solutions like Veeam N2WS CPM. This is why it is called "external" (not managed by B&R). Do you have such a bucket?

Thanks!

fafa24
Enthusiast
Posts: 66
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by fafa24 » Jan 17, 2019 6:19 pm

Oh I see!!

I was trying to add AWS as a repostory so that I can send backup to a bucket.

Thanks
Edy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24303
Liked: 3332 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 17, 2019 6:27 pm 2 people like this post

For that, please use Add Backup Repository > Object storage.

fafa24
Enthusiast
Posts: 66
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by fafa24 » Jan 17, 2019 7:16 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks - just created a new repository for S3. It worked. The wizard looks the same, but here I can add a new folder in the bucket. Cool!

Cheers
Edy

BenPang
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 19, 2019 8:50 am
Full Name: Ben Pang
Contact:

[MERGED] Can't select object storage repository

Post by BenPang » Jan 20, 2019 6:17 pm

Support case ID 03360525
Hello,

My question is related to Update 4 which I installed yesterday.Today I have add AWS S3 and Aliyun OSS as an backup repository successfully and I plan to backup a VM to them. But I can't select them as storage when I create a backup job as screenshot show. Any idea for this situation?
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ail9jZORI0MViBuQGyKtPazV4dZn
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ail9jZORI0MViBrQY8G2jqNMNIQv

Thank you.

akwete
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 30, 2018 2:58 am
Full Name: Ken Onwere
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by akwete » Jan 20, 2019 7:50 pm

I created an AWS S3 backup repository (thanks for the tip!) . However, this repo is not available as a destination for backup jobs.

fafa24
Enthusiast
Posts: 66
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2015 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by fafa24 » Jan 20, 2019 8:31 pm

Thanks for the question. :)

I haven't figured out yet how I can use the AWS repository. I decided to wait until the manual for Update 4 is available. I guess very soon...

Cheers
Edy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24303
Liked: 3332 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 20, 2019 9:16 pm

Object storage can be used for Capacity Tier of scale-out backup repository only, you cannot use it as a regular backup repository. This should be explained on the dashboard where you pick your storage type when creating a backup repository... I hope I didn't forget to write it there, definitely was going to!

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10138
Liked: 817 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: CAN'T SELECT A BACKUP REPOSITORY

Post by Dima P. » Jan 21, 2019 9:48 am

BenPag wrote:My question is related to Update 4 which I installed yesterday.Today I have add AWS S3 and Aliyun OSS as an backup repository successfully and I plan to backup a VM to them. But I can't select them as storage when I create a backup job as screenshot show. Any idea for this situation?
Hello and welcome to the community BenPang,

Object storage based repository cannot be selected as a target for your primary backup job, you can only use it for the Capacity Tier of a scale-out backup repository.

Thanks!

BenPang
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 19, 2019 8:50 am
Full Name: Ben Pang
Contact:

Re: Can't select object storage repository

Post by BenPang » Jan 22, 2019 2:02 am

Noted.So if I want to backup my vm to AWS S3 or Aliyun OSS, How can I do?

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16524
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by veremin » Jan 22, 2019 1:08 pm

You cannot back up directly to object storage, it can be used only as an extension (Capacity Tier) to Scale-Out Backup Repository. Existing backups will be offloaded there, once the fall out of the specified operation restore window. Thanks!

powersjo
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 07, 2016 12:35 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Powers
Location: United States
Contact:

[MERGED] Setup external repository AWS

Post by powersjo » Jan 22, 2019 10:07 pm

I am having an issue setting up an external repository to my AWS cloud. Once I get to 'Bucket" I cannot select a Folder. There are no folders available even though I have created one in AWS for my bucket. In fact, no folders are viewable at all for any of my existing buckets. I have tried 4 different regions as well.

I tried rebooting the server and set the folder to public but no luck. Any thoughts?
Thank you,
- Powersjo :mrgreen:

https://powersjo.com/veeam

BenPang
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 19, 2019 8:50 am
Full Name: Ben Pang
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by BenPang » Jan 23, 2019 6:26 am

Do you mean that I can backup my VM to OSS as secondary destinations and I can also restore my vm from them? If yes, I don't know wht I can't choose select the Configure secondary destinations for this job check box as the screenshot show.

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16524
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by veremin » Jan 23, 2019 11:54 am

Do you mean that I can backup my VM to OSS as secondary destinations and I can also restore my vm from them? If yes, I don't know wht I can't choose select the Configure secondary destinations for this job check box as the screenshot show.
No, I meant something different - you cannot back up VM directly to object storage. It needs to land Scale-Out Backup Reposity first. Then, it needs to stay there for the defined amount of time (the operational restore window specified by you). Once it falls out of the set period of time, it gets offloaded to object storage.

More information can be found here. Kindly, take a look.

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16524
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by veremin » Jan 23, 2019 5:52 pm

I tried rebooting the server and set the folder to public but no luck. Any thoughts?
Can you shed some light on what you're trying to achieve? If you want to make use of new Capacity tier, then, leverage the approach mentioned above. Thanks!

powersjo
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 07, 2016 12:35 pm
Full Name: Jonathan Powers
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by powersjo » Jan 23, 2019 8:16 pm

I am having an issue setting up an external repository to my AWS cloud. Once I get to 'Bucket" I cannot select a Folder. There are no folders available even though I have created one in AWS for my bucket. In fact, no folders are viewable at all for any of my existing buckets. I have tried 4 different regions as well.

I tried rebooting the server and set the folder to public but no luck. Any thoughts?

[UPDATE]
Gostev wrote:
Jan 17, 2019 6:27 pm
For that, please use Add Backup Repository > Object storage.
^^^This was the answer to my question.^^^
Thank you,
- Powersjo :mrgreen:

https://powersjo.com/veeam

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16524
Liked: 1374 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by veremin » Jan 24, 2019 10:28 am

Good to know. Indeed, external repository is a different feature implemented with the different use case in mind (to discover, recover or offload locally backup data produced by Cloud Protection Manager). Thanks!

Robvil
Expert
Posts: 129
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Oct 03, 2016 12:41 pm
Full Name: Robert
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by Robvil » Jan 25, 2019 11:22 am

too bad we need a enterprice vbr license to use scale out repository.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24303
Liked: 3332 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 25, 2019 4:15 pm

Indeed - but it was the case since scale-out backup repository was first introduced a few years ago, so no changes in product licensing here.

akwete
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 30, 2018 2:58 am
Full Name: Ken Onwere
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by akwete » Jan 28, 2019 2:59 pm

I used the free Veeam Backup & Replication Enterprise Plus limited license (https://www.veeam.com/kb2698) to expose advanced features during my Veeam Agent trial (which ends in three days :() The KB points to another link (which for me no longer shows the license) but you may want to give it a try. IS ure hope it is still avaiabile as my purchasing decision is predicated on the features I tested (free VBR limited Enterprise Plus license plus trial licenses for VAL and VAW.)

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24303
Liked: 3332 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by Gostev » Jan 28, 2019 7:57 pm

In fact, you no longer need "free VBR limited Enterprise Plus license plus" with Update 4 (this was merely a workaround due to VBR, VAW and VAL licensed being product-specific). As of Update 4, when you purchase agents, you will get an Instance license of Enterprise Plus edition that is good for any product - and just install your backup server with one.

robg
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 15, 2014 11:21 am
Full Name: Rob
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by robg » Apr 28, 2019 8:54 pm

v.eremin wrote:
Jan 23, 2019 11:54 am
No, I meant something different - you cannot back up VM directly to object storage. It needs to land Scale-Out Backup Reposity first. Then, it needs to stay there for the defined amount of time (the operational restore window specified by you). Once it falls out of the set period of time, it gets offloaded to object storage.

More information can be found here. Kindly, take a look.

Thanks!
How about for backup copy, can S3 be used as a repository for that?

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1565
Liked: 194 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by jmmarton » Apr 29, 2019 5:22 pm

Backup copy can't land directly on S3 either. It needs to land on another repository first, which would be configured as an extent within SOBR, just as for a primary backup job.

Joe

robg
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 15, 2014 11:21 am
Full Name: Rob
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by robg » Apr 29, 2019 5:31 pm

I see, are you an employee of Veeam? Why don't you guys make it so that backup copy does work with S3 directly? Some of us have very simple setups and will never have a need for such complexities like scale-out backups, we just want a backup copy sent to the cloud, as cheaply as possible.

$0.023 per GB per month is very appealing to me. Hah.

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1565
Liked: 194 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by jmmarton » Apr 29, 2019 9:58 pm

You could always spin up a Windows or Linux VM as an EC2 instance, add EBS storage, and add that as a repository into VBR. Then make a SOBR only containing that instance and enable Capacity Tier. This way the copy job goes directly to the cloud, and then weekly/monthly/quarterly/yearly backups would be created and moved to S3.

Joe

robg
Enthusiast
Posts: 76
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Aug 15, 2014 11:21 am
Full Name: Rob
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by robg » Apr 29, 2019 10:09 pm 1 person likes this post

Unneeded complexity and cost. The S3 is just a storage place for files, why can't Veeam write to it directly for backup copies? Consider it a feature request..

ortoscale
Service Provider
Posts: 208
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 9:30 pm
Full Name: Matjaž Antloga
Location: Celje, Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by ortoscale » May 01, 2019 4:20 pm

feature request! thanks.

csydas
Expert
Posts: 193
Liked: 46 times
Joined: Jan 16, 2018 5:14 pm
Full Name: Harvey Carel

Re: Add AWS S3 as an external repository

Post by csydas » May 03, 2019 8:27 pm

robg wrote:
Apr 29, 2019 10:09 pm
Unneeded complexity and cost. The S3 is just a storage place for files, why can't Veeam write to it directly for backup copies? Consider it a feature request..
It's the perpetual reason Veeam has; incremental chains == what your chain looks like today may not be what it looks like tomorrow, and since the data on S3 can't be transformed, you need a data file which is "finalized", for lack of a better term. Normal transforms (meant to reduce data over network) just don't work on S3 storages, as best our shop could tell.

What you really want is a simple path to S3, and you don't need Veeam for that. Just fire up your preferred S3 provider's client and drag/drop a full backup file. It will be inconsistent, out of date, and Veeam unaware, but it will do what you need.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests