Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
Baptiste
Service Provider
Posts: 50
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 12, 2014 4:40 pm
Contact:

Adding Amazon S3 Repository

Post by Baptiste »

Hello Everybody,

i have successfully deploy a repository on Amazon S3 as below :

Amazon file Gateway to access S3 storage
Linux VBR repository to mount NFS point

It works but Veeam doesn't know how much storage is left on the repository (well, infinity... ?) and every job pointing on this repository end up with a warning :
Backup location [/VBR-Repo/backups] is getting low on free disk space (0,0 B free of 0,0 B).

Is there a way to disable warning on this special repository (maybe with a registry key ?)

Thanks

lando_uk
Expert
Posts: 315
Liked: 27 times
Joined: Oct 17, 2013 10:02 am
Full Name: Mark
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Adding Amazon S3 Repository

Post by lando_uk »

Sorry cant help with the question, but can you possible tell me how large your rep is and how much that setup costs a month?

cheers

Baptiste
Service Provider
Posts: 50
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 12, 2014 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Amazon S3 Repository

Post by Baptiste »

Both Gateway and Repository are m4.xlarge with 4vCPU & 16 Go de ram
Dunno about the cost, i believe my customer have specific pricing.
With S3 Storage you can define cycle life policy to move old backup to glacier storage. Public price might be accessible on internet.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6274
Liked: 749 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Adding Amazon S3 Repository

Post by Mike Resseler »

Hi Baptiste,

I believe the following should work:

Under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Veeam\Veeam Backup and Replication\

CheckFreeSpace
Type: REG_DWORD (0 False, 1 True)
Default value: 1 (enabled)

I do believe you need to restart the services to get this into effect

cheers
Mike

Baptiste
Service Provider
Posts: 50
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 12, 2014 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding Amazon S3 Repository

Post by Baptiste »

Hello Mike,

Thanks for the quick answer but is it possible to specify the repository and not all of them ?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 6274
Liked: 749 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Adding Amazon S3 Repository

Post by Mike Resseler »

No, not that I am aware off

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: obroni and 7 guests