Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
kbr
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2020 7:36 am
Full Name: Karl
Contact:

Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by kbr »

Hi we have an existing environment at a customer running Veeam B&R version 11. They do offload to Azure Blob capacity tier.

We added the archive tier to it yesterday. Unfortunately we keep getting errors that the proxy appliances can not be deployed. We do see multiple appliances being deployed but also getting deleted again. Now i see aan error 19-10-2021 14:26:02 :: Failed to provision a proxy appliance: Unable to connect by SSH to appliance.

I'm not the Azure guy, but what i understand customer does not currently have an expressroute or VPN to Azure. Not sure if this is the issue.

Have a call running with support but hasn't helped yet. Anyone have any input if this can even work with an expressroute or VPN or what else the issue can be?

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 2889
Liked: 404 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by wishr »

Hi Karl,

Technical issues should be investigated directly with our tech support engineers. They will be happy to help. Any chance you could share your case ID, as requested when you click "New topic"?

Thanks

kbr
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2020 7:36 am
Full Name: Karl
Contact:

Re: Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by kbr »

Not sure where to mention the Support ID, but it's : 05084582

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19068
Liked: 1943 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by veremin »

Thanks for providing the support ticket number.

Out of curiosity - isn't there a security group that is associated with the selected subnet? If so, doesn't it have an SSH port blocked?

Thanks!

kbr
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2020 7:36 am
Full Name: Karl
Contact:

Re: Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by kbr »

Hi,

Not sure, i'm the Veeam guy not the Azure guy :-). We also tried to let Veeam create the security groups and subnets but that didn't work. There isn't a lot of documentation we could find about how to setup the archive tier unfortunately.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19068
Liked: 1943 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by veremin »

Got it, then continue working with the support team, they should be able to figure out what is blocking SSH access. Thanks!

kbr
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 09, 2020 7:36 am
Full Name: Karl
Contact:

Re: Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by kbr »

Hi,

Well things got interesting. We made the offload work now, so we have a capacity and an archive tier. But what we were hoping for isn't happening, we think.

We moved all FULL backups older then 66 days (that's keeping 2 FULL's on the capacity tier) to archive storage. Hoping to gain a lot on the capacity tier and using the cheaper archive tier for that. In practice we now have about 20TB on the archive tier already. But our capacity tier has not shrinked. That's partly to blame to adding new VM's to the backup but if we calculate that we see only a gain of 1 to 2 TB. So 1 to 2 TB have been deleted on capacity and we now have 20TB on archive. According to veeam support engineer this has to do with the way VEEAM writes to BLOB storage, only changes are wirtten. Which is of course superb but now we are in a sitauation we told the customer it would be cost effective to move older data to archive storage and in practice it might even be more expensive, because we gain almost nothing on capacity and have a lot on archive storage...

So maybe one of the product specialists on the forum can comment on that?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29487
Liked: 5587 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Adding Archive tier (Azure) to SOBR does not work

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

Don't forget that Archive Tier is designed for long-term storage of GFS backups. You will gain cost benefits from using Archive Tier as you archive more and more GFS backups there which need to be stored for multiple years, as required by many regulations. In this scenario, after some years you'll have let's say 200TB worth of data sitting in a cheap Archive Tier, but still only 20TB in a much more expensive Capacity Tier. While without the Archive Tier, you would have all 200TB sitting in the very expensive Capacity Tier, which would result in a few times higher costs than without Archive Tier.

Example for Azure blob:
200 TB in CT costs $3600 per month
20 TB in CT + 200 TB in AT costs $560 total per month (with the AT part being just $200).
That's 6.4 times more cost effective, so you did not lie to your customer ;)

By the way, keep in mind that deleting "only" 1-2 TB from CT releases enough storage costs to store 18-36 TB of data in AT instead.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests