Discussions specific to object storage
Post Reply
xorman
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2019 12:41 am
Contact:

Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by xorman » Feb 09, 2019 12:56 am

We have a few years old backups that we would like to migrate to a separate repository.
Let's say I have cheaper storage for less critical data and I'm looking for a way to constantly migrate old full backups older than X days to a dedicated DAS. Kind of capacity tier for DAS.

For internal reasons all cloud solutions out of the scope at this point.

Is there a built-in way to do that?


Thanks.

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 2385
Liked: 510 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by nielsengelen » Feb 09, 2019 7:58 pm

Currently the cloud tier only supports object storage so to achieve this you would need to leverage backup copy jobs.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

xorman
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2019 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by xorman » Feb 11, 2019 5:23 pm

Backup copy job wouldn't help in my case as I'm looking for a way to move existing backups from number of repositories to a new one.
Are there any powershell scripts available for this type of tasks?

v.eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16130
Liked: 1314 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by v.eremin » Feb 11, 2019 5:52 pm

You should be able to script file copy utility (robocopy or similar) to move data that falls out of the specified timeframe, but that will most likely confuse backup server - its configuration database will still have references to restore points that have been already moved to different location. Thanks!

xorman
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2019 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by xorman » Feb 13, 2019 8:20 pm

That's unfortunate.

I hope there is something more advance than just file copy utility.


Thanks for your response.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24016
Liked: 3252 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by Gostev » Feb 13, 2019 8:40 pm

Regular file systems will not scale for our needs, so DAS is not really an option outside of small environments (we actually do have the code that enables leveraging regular file systems for Capacity Tier, we used that internally for dev labs before while S3 client was being implemented).

Did you consider putting object storage on top of your DAS? They are plenty of free and commercial solutions for this.

xorman
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 09, 2019 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by xorman » Feb 14, 2019 10:52 pm

Thanks, Gostev
It's actually a fresh idea.

I'll take a look on object storage solutions for local storage.

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1432
Liked: 175 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by jmmarton » Feb 15, 2019 12:50 am

Take a look at Minio, an open source S3 object storage solution.

https://www.minio.io/

You can run it on either Windows or Linux and present it as S3 object storage to VBR to then use any on-premises storage for the Capacity Tier. I haven't set it up in my lab yet, but a few colleagues have in order to demonstrate Capacity Tier without having an Azure Blob or S3 account.

Joe

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24016
Liked: 3252 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Capacity Tier for DAS

Post by Gostev » Feb 15, 2019 1:44 pm

Linux only with Minio please, see the sticky compatibility list ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests