Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
lrhazi
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm
Full Name: Mohamed Lrhazi
Contact:

How would one migrate/move from AWS S3 to Wasabi ?

Post by lrhazi »

For many months now, we have been using S3 as capacity tier, copying all backups as soon as they are created to an S3 bucket, with object locking enabled...

If we were to move to Wasabi, or I guess any other vendor for that matter, what would the process be like?
Would we need to crate new SOBR and start moving backup jobs to it? Would migrating existing backups be something to consider?

Thanks,
Mohamed.

dalbertson
Veeam Software
Posts: 468
Liked: 157 times
Joined: Jul 21, 2015 12:38 pm
Full Name: Dustin Albertson
Contact:

Re: How would one migrate/move from AWS S3 to Wasabi ?

Post by dalbertson » 1 person likes this post

The most cost effective solution would be to create a new sobr and start new backups going to it.

There are services that will move the data to wasabi for you but it costs.

Also pulling the data down to vbr and then to wasabi costs.

Just start fresh and let the old backups age out.
Dustin Albertson | Manager - Cloud & Applications | Veeam Product Management, Alliances

vtjim345
Service Provider
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 13, 2011 8:41 pm
Full Name: Jim Silvia
Contact:

Re: How would one migrate/move from AWS S3 to Wasabi ?

Post by vtjim345 »

What mechanism would age out the old SOBR if the new SOBR is referenced by the backup job?

I have a similar issue where the size of the wasabi bucket was > 100 TB with some performance problems. We removed the original wasabi bucket from the SOBR and put a new wasabi bucket in the SOBR but i don't see what would be aging out the original bucket now.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29094
Liked: 5356 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How would one migrate/move from AWS S3 to Wasabi ?

Post by Gostev »

This requires V11, where GFS backups retention is processed independently of the job as a background process.
Once they all age out, you'd need to delete the remaining (recent) backups manually.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jmmarton, wishr and 8 guests