Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
barrett27
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 18, 2022 1:58 pm
Contact:

Latest backup chain offload

Post by barrett27 »

Hello everyone,
I reconfigured a SOBR adding S3 as performance tier, but for some reason VBR didn't ask me if I wanted to copy all backups or only the latest backup chain from the capacity tier.
When a SOBR tiering job starts, all backups are copied

Is there a way to start a SOBR tiering job but only for the latest backup chain? Maybe through a PS command?

Thank you

db

Mildur
Veeam Software
Posts: 4862
Liked: 1459 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Latest backup chain offload

Post by Mildur »

Hello db

Welcome to our forum.
adding S3 as performance tier
I assume, you are talking about the capacity tier.

A SOBR with the COPY policy will always offload all restore points from the performance tier.
And the MOVE policy will offload inactive backup chains after the configured operational restore window is over.

If you want to have only the last few days ( 1-2 weeks) on object storage, you must create two Backup Jobs. The Retention in the Capacity Tier follows the configured retention period of the backup or backup copy jobs:
1) First Job with 1-2 weeks Retention. Use the SOBR as a Target.
2) Second Job with more days and GFS (as you require). Use a simple Backup Repository for this Job. You can use the same storage as the SOBR, but you must configure another folder path on the Storage. It cannot be the same folder path as the one for the SOBR.

With Veeam V12 later this year, you will be able to directly backup to an object storage and configure the retention as you need. But for now, you have to create an additional backup/backup copy job.

Thanks
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software

barrett27
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 18, 2022 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Latest backup chain offload

Post by barrett27 »

Hello Fabian,
thank you for you reply
I assume, you are talking about the capacity tier.
Yes of course :-)

Let me explain better my scenario.

I have three VMware backup jobs where the target is a SOBR.
The SOBR always had a NAS as performance tier and an S3 compatible as capacity tier, but yesterday I replaced the S3 with a different one in the SOBR.

I would have expected this message at the end of the SOBR riconfiguration:
Image

The message didn't show up, but I whish it did to answer "Latest"

db

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19871
Liked: 2150 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Latest backup chain offload

Post by veremin »

If Capacity Tier is set in copy mode, capacity extent replacement should trigger the said message. If this does not happen, you can open a support ticket and provide its number here for further investigation. Thanks!

barrett27
Influencer
Posts: 17
Liked: 3 times
Joined: May 18, 2022 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Latest backup chain offload

Post by barrett27 » 3 people like this post

Hi,
I reconfigured again the SOBR through the wizard and this time the message showed up

Thank you for help

db

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19871
Liked: 2150 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Latest backup chain offload

Post by veremin »

You are welcome, that must have been UI glitch or something. Thank you for coming back and updating the thread.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests