Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
liorme
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 12, 2019 6:29 am
Full Name: lior
Contact:

moving backups to s3

Post by liorme »

hi. in a scaleout repo with s3, why is it only after i do a second active full (meaning : 1 full + let's say 3 increments + active full) does the first 1+3 increments go to the cloud? can't veeam upload everything to the cloud from the start? and i mean move, not copy.

thank you

sfirmes
Veeam Software
Posts: 92
Liked: 49 times
Joined: Jul 24, 2018 8:38 pm
Full Name: Stephen Firmes
Contact:

Re: moving backups to s3

Post by sfirmes »

The “move mode” only moves inactive backup chains to the S3 target. This is the behavior you are seeing. The “copy mode” will copy the backup data to the S3 target once the backup file in the performance tier is created. You can use both modes together as well.

liorme
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 12, 2019 6:29 am
Full Name: lior
Contact:

Re: moving backups to s3

Post by liorme »

thank you. if i use both modes together, it would take twice the space, no?

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 278
Liked: 102 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: moving backups to s3

Post by Mildur »

No, space is needed only once for the same restore point/blocks.

liorme
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 12, 2019 6:29 am
Full Name: lior
Contact:

Re: moving backups to s3

Post by liorme »

cool. so actually, let's say i have a first full backup, and then some restore points after it - and i have a copy and move enabled.
so the first full and it's points, will be copied to the cloud.
now, after some time, the next active full is created, and now, the veeam will move the first full and it's point to the cloud and only leaves a small metadata behind. will this move action not take more space? the block storage will "trace" the identical blocks and will not "eat" the storage twice?

oleg.feoktistov
Veeam Software
Posts: 506
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Sep 25, 2019 10:32 am
Full Name: Oleg Feoktistov
Contact:

Re: moving backups to s3

Post by oleg.feoktistov »

Correct, if your inactive chain was moved with copy mode already, when offload policy hits, blocks from inactive chain are removed from performance tier and just metadata remains. Only unique blocks are moved to capacity tier, if any. Thanks!

liorme
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 12, 2019 6:29 am
Full Name: lior
Contact:

Re: moving backups to s3

Post by liorme »

cool, thank you

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests