Discussions specific to object storage
Post Reply
nvdwansem
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 22, 2018 8:33 am
Contact:

Offload to Capacity tier

Post by nvdwansem » Jan 30, 2019 7:02 am

I've created a case with VEAAM support just now but maybe there's some experience already with my question.

I've installed U4 and configured my SOBR's with an offload to a Capacity Tier after 2 days, however in my job there are backups older than 2 days (created before the Capacity Tier was configured, not sure if that matters) but if I look at the offload jobs all mention no data to move.

ps: in the beta I've tested it worked flawlessly.

anthonyspiteri79
Veeam Software
Posts: 528
Liked: 110 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2016 6:48 am
Full Name: Anthony Spiteri
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: Offload to Capacity tier

Post by anthonyspiteri79 » Jan 30, 2019 8:15 am

Hey there.

Case is going to be a good way to get to the source of the problem, however... How was your job configured out of interest? Forward/Reverse Incremental...Active/Synthetic Fulls? Backup Copy Job?
Anthony Spiteri
Global Technologist, Product Strategy | VMware vExpert
Email: anthony.spiteri@veeam.com | Mobile: +61488335699
Twitter: @anthonyspiteri | Skype: anthony_spiteri

nvdwansem
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 22, 2018 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: Offload to Capacity tier

Post by nvdwansem » Jan 30, 2019 8:21 am

Hello,

There were copy jobs for these jobs but I've removed them, I don't understand the forward/reverse, it's just a normal backup incremental CBT job which runs 4x a day which we keep for 14 days, 2 days on local storage and 12 days on S3.

anthonyspiteri79
Veeam Software
Posts: 528
Liked: 110 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2016 6:48 am
Full Name: Anthony Spiteri
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: Offload to Capacity tier

Post by anthonyspiteri79 » Jan 30, 2019 8:36 am

Ok, so what we want to satisfy the two conditions for data to be tiered to the Capacity Tier is the policy (operational restore window) and that the backup chain is sealed/inactive.
Before transferring data to object storage repositories, Veeam validates the backup chain state to ensure that the restore points to be offloaded belong to an inactive backup chain
Here is the help file which should help you understand the process: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... l?ver=95u4
Anthony Spiteri
Global Technologist, Product Strategy | VMware vExpert
Email: anthony.spiteri@veeam.com | Mobile: +61488335699
Twitter: @anthonyspiteri | Skype: anthony_spiteri

nvdwansem
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 22, 2018 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: Offload to Capacity tier

Post by nvdwansem » Jan 30, 2019 10:36 am

Okay, so basically you have to do a active full once a week, or in my case if I really want to move it after two days, run an active full every two days?

Or change it to reverse incremental?

anthonyspiteri79
Veeam Software
Posts: 528
Liked: 110 times
Joined: Jan 14, 2016 6:48 am
Full Name: Anthony Spiteri
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: Offload to Capacity tier

Post by anthonyspiteri79 » Jan 30, 2019 12:27 pm

Yes you just have to seal the chain in order for it to be a candidate for offload.
Anthony Spiteri
Global Technologist, Product Strategy | VMware vExpert
Email: anthony.spiteri@veeam.com | Mobile: +61488335699
Twitter: @anthonyspiteri | Skype: anthony_spiteri

nvdwansem
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Oct 22, 2018 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: Offload to Capacity tier

Post by nvdwansem » Jan 31, 2019 8:53 am

Cheers thanks for your help, it's all sorted now I'm changing the jobs to reverse incremental.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests