Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
cristiano.cumer
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer
Contact:

Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by cristiano.cumer »

Hello,

is there a way to specify different types of EC2 proxy instances? I need a memory optimised one since I need 64 GB of ram to be able to archive some huge :twisted: VMs.

Thanks!

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 12419
Liked: 2388 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
Question: what makes you think, that you need an EC2 proxy appliance with 64GB RAM? Do smaller archiver appliance fail to bring the data to Glacier?

To answer your question: yes, there is a registry key for that. Support can help here (normally I would just post it, but this key is restricted for special use-cases only).

Best regards,
Hannes

cristiano.cumer
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer
Contact:

Re: Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by cristiano.cumer »

Hi Hannes,

yes, smaller appliance do fail, so I was told by support. I guess I will wait for them to give me the key.

Thanks

Cristiano

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 12419
Liked: 2388 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
could I please get the case number?

Thanks,
Hannes

cristiano.cumer
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer
Contact:

Re: Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by cristiano.cumer »

Hello,

here it is:

05467789

for the future I'm trying to persuade my colleague to split a file server cluster in many smaller ones.

Cristiano

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 12419
Liked: 2388 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by HannesK »

hmm, as I read through the case, I'm not sure whether more RAM is really the solution... I will do some investigations.

cristiano.cumer
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2011 11:18 pm
Full Name: Cristianno Cumer
Contact:

Re: Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by cristiano.cumer »

Thanks!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19868
Liked: 2150 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Sizing of EC2 Proxy appliance

Post by veremin »

R&D team suspected the lack of RAM as a main factor. They were not able to confirm these with the debug logs, cause log collection from the appliance failed. They suggested increasing appliance memory via the said key and seeing whether this fixes the issue. The issue hasn't re-occured, so the original assumption seems to be valid.

In v12 we are planning to decrease resource requirements for proxy appliance, though - hopefully, you won't need such a beefy machine in the next product versions.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests