Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
kewnev
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Jun 17, 2012 1:09 pm
Full Name: Nev
Contact:

SureBackup and Object Storage

Post by kewnev »

Hello,

I was wondering if it was possible to tell SureBackup to use Capacity Tier data instead of Performance Tier data? SureBackup seems like a great way to test backups in isolation, and it would be great to be able to test the latest S3 restore point to ensure recoverability of data.
Alternatively, is it possible to temporarily disable the Performance Tier repository before the SureBackup operation, forcing SureBackup to fetch the data from the Capacity Tier?

Many Thanks.

sfirmes
Veeam Software
Posts: 128
Liked: 77 times
Joined: Jul 24, 2018 8:38 pm
Full Name: Stephen Firmes
Contact:

Re: SureBackup and Object Storage

Post by sfirmes »

If you put the Performance Tier in maintenance mode, that will force the use of the Capacity Tier.
Thanks,

Steve

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18982
Liked: 1923 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: SureBackup and Object Storage

Post by veremin »

What policy is configured for Capacity Tier? Move or Copy?

I'm wondering cause we just discovered an issue with SureBackup and Capacity Tier maintenance mode: SureBackup tries to verify backups residing on Performance Tier, even if it is in maintenance mode. If restore points to verify have been moved to Capacity Tier (move policy), the verification procedure then switches to Capacity Tier and succeeds.

However if restore points are present on Performance Tier (copy policy), the verification procedure never touches data on Capacity Tier.

This behaviour is considered as a bug and will be fixed in one of the next product updates (too late to include in 11a, unfortunately).

Thanks!

kewnev
Enthusiast
Posts: 79
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Jun 17, 2012 1:09 pm
Full Name: Nev
Contact:

Re: SureBackup and Object Storage

Post by kewnev »

It exists on both Performance and Capacity, hence it would be Copy policy I presume.
Thanks for the information and the update, I guess we just need to be patient for now until it has been fixed in Veeam.

Many Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests