Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
stevenfoo
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo
Contact:

VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by stevenfoo »

Hi,

We are confuse with how we could create a AWS S3 repository bucket in our VBR standard version 11 and use copy job to copy the backup in Glacier Deep Archive.

Could VBR standard version 11 able to create AWS S3 repository bucket (use Glacier Deep Archive default option)?

In our VBR standard version 11, we could click on create a object storage and enter the information.

Or do we need any other additional license?

Thank you.

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1657
Liked: 668 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by Mildur »

Adding the Archive Object Storage in veeam Standard allows you only todo restores, not backups.
For Backup Offloading to Archive Tier, you need to have a Enterprise Plus License (VUL License will allow you to use Archive Tier too)

For Archive Tier, you will need a SOBR with "Performance Tier", "Capacity Tier" and the "Archive Tier".

See the full edition comparison in this pdf:
https://www.veeam.com/veeam_vbr_one_11_ ... son_ds.pdf
VMCE 2021 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

stevenfoo
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by stevenfoo »

Hi Mildur,

For the Enterprise Plus License (VUL License will allow you to use Archive Tier too) could install it in our existing VBR standard version?
The minimum to purchase for Enterprise Plus License (VUL License) is 1 bundle for 10 instances right?

We have 18 sockets license for our VBR standard version.

Mildur
Veeam Legend
Posts: 1657
Liked: 668 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Full Name: Fabian K.
Location: St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by Mildur »

You need to Upgrade your entire standard license to an enterprise plus.
If a socket license is present, all vm workload will leverage the socket license.
The vbr server will use the socket license edition if one exists, not the vul feature set.
VMCE 2021 | Veeam Legends 2021
Working with Veeam since 2017 for a VCSP in Switzerland

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29081
Liked: 5352 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by Gostev »

Or instead of upgrading your Sockets to Enterprise Plus, you may consider migrating your Sockets to Veeam Universal Licenses (VUL) which are fully featured (analogous to Enterprise Plus edition of Socket licenses). Contact your Veeam sales rep to get a quote for migration and see if you prefer that. Thanks!

stevenfoo
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by stevenfoo »

Hi All,

Thank you very much for all the reply. We need to know how much it will cost first as we don't have any budget for upgrade licenses.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18831
Liked: 1903 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by veremin »

You need to talk to your sales representative, he or she will provide you with certain options that depend on the product edition and the current density. Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29081
Liked: 5352 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by Gostev »

The edition we already know from the topic name, so upgrade costs won't be zero in any case. Thus, if there's no budget, then nothing can be done here.

stevenfoo
Expert
Posts: 116
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 26, 2009 3:11 am
Full Name: Steven Foo
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by stevenfoo »

Thank you we will speak to Veeam sales and see how it goes. Else we will have to look for other solution. We already have solution however we want to keep Veeam. If Veeam cannot provide a suitable solution, then we have migrate out of veeam to a better solution that more cost effective.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 29081
Liked: 5352 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VBR Standard version with AWS S3 Respository

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

Well, if you do have a budget to acquire a brand new solution, then simply upgrading Veeam will certainly be cheaper :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: morrisng and 1 guest