Agent-based backup of Windows, Linux, Max, AIX and Solaris machines.
DollaBillz217
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: William Cody

Backing up physical server

Post by DollaBillz217 »

Excuse my question, but I am brand new to Veeam. I purchased the Backup and Replication software and I need to backup 4 separate physical servers that are acting as both a domain controller and a file server. How do I go about doing this? I'm confused as to what I need to install on each machine to accomplish this. Thanks
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Liked: 680 times
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev

Re: Backing up physical server

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Check out Veeam Agent Management Guide - it has step by step instructions configuring physical server protection jobs!
/Thanks
noel-evo
Novice
Full Name: Noel vK

Post by noel-evo »

I am also having difficulty locating any documentation for physical servers. Everything mentions Virtual. I have several DC's and File Servers that I need incremental backups for. I have the agent on some and the full package on others and nowhere do I see the options for incremental backups. Only daily interim backups which are backing up huge amounts of data (the backup was several gig but the difference in data was around 500MB)
dalbertson
Veeam Software
Liked: 175 times
Full Name: Dustin Albertson

Post by dalbertson »

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/agent ... tml?ver=40

During the first backup job session, Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows performs full backup. Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows copies all data that you have chosen to back up (entire volumes and folders) and stores the resulting full backup file (VBK) in the target location. The full backup takes significant time to complete and produces a large backup file: you have to copy the whole amount of data.