Discussions specific to managed agent-based backups
Post Reply
Jeff M
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 13, 2015 4:31 am
Full Name: Jeffrey Michael James
Location: 8th Street & Boston Avenue Box 43051 Lubbock, TX 79409-3051
Contact:

Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by Jeff M » Feb 04, 2019 3:52 am

If I update a B&R Server with u4 that is backing up both Windows and Linux agents, if after update a server requires reboot will it continue to backup if it can not be rebooted immediately. Or will it have to be rebooted before it will backup again? In other words if an agent server is pending reboot after update U4 applied will it continue to backup prior to reboot?

Jeff
Jeff M. James
Data Center Operations
Technology Operations & Systems Management
Texas Tech University System
Office: (806) 834-4407 | Mobile: (806) 535-4228
jeff.james@ttu.edu | http://www.texastech.edu/it/tosm/

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5723
Liked: 606 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 04, 2019 8:00 am

Jeff,

Are you talking about a reboot of the servers that are running the agents? If I am not mistaken there is no reboot necessary in this case and the job will continue as is.

Jeff M
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 13, 2015 4:31 am
Full Name: Jeffrey Michael James
Location: 8th Street & Boston Avenue Box 43051 Lubbock, TX 79409-3051
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by Jeff M » Feb 04, 2019 8:09 am

No, I was talking about the server being backed up whose agent is managed by the B&R server. Post update u4 I have many agent (physical) servers that say they require reboot but still backed up anyway. I also have many requiring reboot that will not backup..

Jeff
Jeff M. James
Data Center Operations
Technology Operations & Systems Management
Texas Tech University System
Office: (806) 834-4407 | Mobile: (806) 535-4228
jeff.james@ttu.edu | http://www.texastech.edu/it/tosm/

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5723
Liked: 606 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 04, 2019 8:38 am

OK. In some cases a reboot will be required. That can have several reasons, most likely because a pending reboot was already required, some updates in between or some of the VSS components (in case of Windows) needed an update and that means the backup cannot be taken.

Makes sense?

alex.talmage
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: May 09, 2018 4:05 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Managed Veeam Agent and B&R Update 4

Post by alex.talmage » Feb 06, 2019 10:40 am

HI All,

I wonder if somebody from Veeam, or somebody who has updated from V&R 9.5 Update 3a to Update 4, could help me?

We use Veeam Agent for Windows Managed Version currently. If I upgrade B&R to 9.5 Update 4, is there a forced upgrade of the managed agents? I remember upgrading to update 3, we had to upgrade all agents, which also needed a reboot, before they could be backed up. Is this the case with Update 4 also?

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1739
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Managed Veeam Agent and B&R Update 4

Post by DGrinev » Feb 06, 2019 11:44 am

Hi Alex,

Since the Agent version before 3.0 is supported by Veeam B&R Update 4, you can initiate update whenever you want.
That's shouldn't affect your current Agent backup activities. Thanks!

ChuckS42
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by ChuckS42 » Feb 07, 2019 6:03 pm 1 person likes this post

The reboot is required because the new Agent requires .NET 4.6, and that needs a reboot. The previous Agent only needed .NET 4.5.2.

Historically, in my experience, if you attempt an Agent upgrade and it is left in a state where a reboot is required, further backup attempts will fail until the reboot happens. We'll see tonight if that's still true.

andyman3000
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 30, 2017 5:46 pm
Full Name: Andy Perkins
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by andyman3000 » Feb 11, 2019 3:10 am

Chuck/Anyone

How did your in place upgrade from VBR 9.5 3a to u4 effect your managed Veeam Agents jobs? I need to plan an upgrade and usually plan to hit around patch/reboot cycles to finalize any required reboots. My problem is that Dev and Prod are on different weeks. I can’t risk not backing up for a week to wait for next reboot cycle.

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5723
Liked: 606 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by Mike Resseler » Feb 11, 2019 6:08 am

Andy,

It shouldn't? Besides the upgrade of .NET 4.6 (if needed) the rest should remain as is? Best is that you query what versions of .NET is installed on those machines. (At least, if I understood your question...)

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22971
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 12, 2019 11:25 am

andyman3000 wrote:How did your in place upgrade from VBR 9.5 3a to u4 effect your managed Veeam Agents jobs? I need to plan an upgrade and usually plan to hit around patch/reboot cycles to finalize any required reboots.
I would try to match the maintenance window of your production infrastructure since this is the most critical piece. For the dev infrastructure, then forcing a reboot might be a less painful task.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 10536
Liked: 857 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by Dima P. » Feb 12, 2019 6:28 pm

Hi folks,

Wanted to clarify few things about the possible reboot requirement.

Generally reboot is not required when you are upgrading agents to v3. This also valid for CBT driver update as we implemented the new logic which won't force users to reboot the machine immediately and will keep the jobs operational.

Reboot is required when Operating System is stuck in pending for reboot state (as such state blocks software installers). Might be caused by Windows update or other software installation when reboot was not performed as a part of installation procedure i.e. was canceled /delayed / declined.

Reboot might be required when you are upgrading agent on Windows 7 SP1 or Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1. We do not have 100% confirmation in our labs, but most likely this behavior is caused by the fix provided with KB4038923 (August 15, 2017). Here is the official MS KB article - Update for the .NET Framework 4.6 on Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 (KB4038923).

Reboot might be required by bundled SQL components and it's upgrade. That's not mandatory, but might happen as well.

Hope this helps to clarify the confusion. Cheers!

ChuckS42
Expert
Posts: 109
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Apr 24, 2013 8:53 pm
Full Name: Chuck Stevens
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by ChuckS42 » Feb 12, 2019 7:19 pm 1 person likes this post

andyman3000 wrote:
Feb 11, 2019 3:10 am
Chuck/Anyone

How did your in place upgrade from VBR 9.5 3a to u4 effect your managed Veeam Agents jobs? I need to plan an upgrade and usually plan to hit around patch/reboot cycles to finalize any required reboots. My problem is that Dev and Prod are on different weeks. I can’t risk not backing up for a week to wait for next reboot cycle.
Not at all, it turns out. My Agent jobs still run as they should. I have a separate .NET upgrade scheduled for when monthly patches are deployed, and when that's done I'll update the Agents.

paarth164
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 03, 2018 1:54 pm
Full Name: parth
Contact:

[MERGED] Veeam Agent upgrade to 3.0

Post by paarth164 » Mar 19, 2019 3:26 pm

We have deployed veeam agent using protection groups in Veeam B&R. (Veeam agent current version 2.1.0.423).

Now upgrading this agent will require a reboot? and Does new installation of Veeam agent 3.0 require a reboot on windows and linux ?

Thanks,
Parth Patel

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1739
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Veeam Agent upgrade to 3.0

Post by DGrinev » Mar 19, 2019 3:37 pm

Hi Parth,

The agent upgrade doesn't require reboot, however, it requires new .NET 4.6 which can request system reboot.
Please review this discussion for additional information. Thanks!

paarth164
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 03, 2018 1:54 pm
Full Name: parth
Contact:

Re: Pending Reboot after upgrade u4

Post by paarth164 » Mar 19, 2019 3:55 pm

Okay Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest