Discussions specific to managed agent-based backups
Post Reply
soporteBHUY
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2018 6:32 pm
Full Name: Soporte Heritage
Contact:

Rescan of Mannually Added Job Fail

Post by soporteBHUY » Apr 03, 2019 12:49 pm

Hello, I have updated to VBR 9.5 U4, and now I have a daily job failed

Rescan of Manually Added --> Fail
“Error: Remote deployment and management is available for licensed agents only. Please change your backup server settings to allow managed agents to consume the license, then perform a protection group rescan."

I am protectin one phisical server (windows 7) with a free license

I have seen this topic physical-cloud-f49/rescan-of-manually-a ... 56589.html

There is a reply with the folloging tip:
"Go to General menu, select License and open the Instances tab. Make sure that checkbox Allow free agents to consume instances is checked. Once done your agents should start to consume instance counters from your license files."

But I guess if I do this I will need a licensed agent? or can I still use my Free phisical agent license?

Thanks

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Rescan of Mannually Added Job Fail

Post by P.Tide » Apr 03, 2019 3:25 pm

But I guess if I do this I will need a licensed agent? or can I still use my Free phisical agent license?
Do you intend to deploy and manage your agents from VBR? If so, then the agents must consume license from VBR.

Also, what do you mean by "Free physical agent license"? Are you using community edition?

Thanks!

soporteBHUY
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2018 6:32 pm
Full Name: Soporte Heritage
Contact:

Re: Rescan of Mannually Added Job Fail

Post by soporteBHUY » Apr 03, 2019 5:33 pm

As I understand, there is a "Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows" free version for VBR to backup a physical server, I would like to continue using that version

jmmarton
Veeam Software
Posts: 1655
Liked: 224 times
Joined: Nov 17, 2015 2:38 am
Full Name: Joe Marton
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Rescan of Mannually Added Job Fail

Post by jmmarton » Apr 04, 2019 12:11 pm

If you do not already own any agent subscriptions/instances, then you are granted up to 6 free instances. Make sure you get these at which point you'll now have a licensed agent which should resolve the issue.

Joe

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5264
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Rescan of Mannually Added Job Fail

Post by P.Tide » Apr 04, 2019 12:54 pm

Agents can send backups into VBR without consuming licenses only if Agents are in a standalone mode (aka "unmanaged"). In this mode VBR acts only as a receiver - you cannot manage and configure free Agents. The moment you start managing Agents from VBR, Agents start to consume counters from the license installed on VBR.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest