Discussions specific to managed agent-based backups
Post Reply
NaderSanders
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 24, 2019 8:23 am
Full Name: Nader Sanders
Contact:

Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by NaderSanders » Jan 24, 2019 8:30 am

Hi,
Yesterday I 5x Veeam 9.5 Update3 Instances to 9.5 Update 4
Now I have a failed job names ‘Rescan of manually Added’ scheduled 9:00 pm at all all of them

“Veeam_MP The Rescan job 'Rescan of Manually Added' has finished with Failed state. Job details: Error: Remote deployment and management is available for licensed agents only. Please change your backup server settings to allow managed agents to consume the license, then perform a protection group rescan.")”

What to do?
Thanks/Nader

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9422
Liked: 731 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by Dima P. » Jan 24, 2019 9:47 am

Hello Nader,

Any chance you use agent management feature to protect your physical workloads with Veeam B&R? Thanks!

storm1969
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 25, 2019 2:16 pm
Full Name: Brian Butler
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by storm1969 » Jan 25, 2019 2:19 pm

I am getting the same thing. Starting the first night after upgrade (yesterday). I am not protecting any physical machines with VEEAM. A bug in the upgrade?

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9422
Liked: 731 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by Dima P. » Jan 25, 2019 2:24 pm

Hello Brian,

This might be a minor issue indeed. Please go to Inventory node, right click Manually added under Protection Groups and hit Disable. Let us know if that works. Thanks!

Stokkolm
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Feb 11, 2016 11:11 pm
Full Name: John Zetterman
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by Stokkolm » Jan 30, 2019 5:40 pm

I am experiencing the same issue. I am using VBR to manage the Veeam Agent backup and I get this error on rescan when I attempt to upgrade the Veeam Agent version. Additionally, the backup job for this agent has been failing since upgrading to U4 with an error stating that the functionality requires using paid Veeam Agent edition. I have upgraded my Veeam licensing to the instance-based license.

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9422
Liked: 731 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by Dima P. » Jan 30, 2019 6:35 pm

Hello John,

Since you are managing agents via Veeam B&R console the issue is slightly different. Go to General menu, select License and open the Instances tab. Make sure that checkbox Allow free agents to consume instances is checked. Once done your agents should start to consume instance counters from your license files. Let us know if that works. Cheers!

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 378
Liked: 103 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Jan 31, 2019 3:16 pm

Hey Dima!
I came across this thread because I have only free agents backing up to the VBR repo. When I check the box "Allow free agents to consume instances" I get the following warning:
"We will switch all free agents backup up to this server into the licensed mode. All such agents will then start consuming instances from your license, and become supported. Change the license mode for unmanaged agents?"

This sounds like it will move them into a paid mode, if I enable this option will all the free agents remain working the way they do now?

Thanks!
VMCE v9

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9422
Liked: 731 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by Dima P. » Jan 31, 2019 4:10 pm

Hi Ryan!

It's not required at all. You can just disable the Rescan for Manually Added protection group.

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 378
Liked: 103 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Jan 31, 2019 6:24 pm

I do not have any protection groups configured...Not sure what to do next!

Thanks!
VMCE v9

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9422
Liked: 731 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by Dima P. » Jan 31, 2019 7:13 pm 1 person likes this post

Manually Added protection group is the predefined one (it's always there), so under Inventory > Protection Groups right click Manually added and hit disable. That should stop rescan job and, as a result, email reports wont be created.

JaxIsland7575
Veeam Vanguard
Posts: 378
Liked: 103 times
Joined: Apr 27, 2015 1:59 pm
Full Name: Ryan Jacksland
Location: NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Rescan of manually Added failed

Post by JaxIsland7575 » Jan 31, 2019 7:15 pm

There it is! I should have looked more closely thanks Dima!
VMCE v9

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests