Agent-based backup of Windows, Linux, Max, AIX and Solaris machines.
stamatis.t
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Stamatis Tahliabouris

[MERGED] VEEAM B&R: Local VM backups, Off-site replication

Post by stamatis.t »

Hi all,

VEEAM newbie here!

I inherited an infrastructure with two Hyper-V Server (WS 2012R2), where one is the active host for about 20 virtual servers, and the other one is the replica partner.

Local replication works smoothly, so I want to have one more replication point for some of the servers (around 5 of them) on a cloud provider.

We have already purchased a license for VEEAM B&R Essential (9.5) with WAN Accelerator.

What I want to deploy is:
1)Create backup job(s) for all the VMs to be stored in our local NAS (now I manually export them once every 2-3 moths)
2)A job to replicate 4-5 VMs on the cloud provider’s infrastructure, while keeping the existing local replication for all the VMs with the secondary Hyper-V server.

So here come my questions:
-Which is the best practice to back up the VMs from? The primary host or the replica partner?
-How VEEAM B&R handles all the differential disks that are being created during replication and the and restore points we have setup in replication properties for every VM?
-Regarding the off-site replication, from which Hyper-v will the VMs replicate to our cloud provider?

That’s all for now, looking forward for your valuable help.

Thank you in advance,
Stamatis
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 729 times

Re: VEEAM B&R: Local VM backups, Off-site replication

Post by PTide »

<...> the primary host or the replica partner?