Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
StixForBrains
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Tony Bender

Installation location for a replication trial

Post by StixForBrains »

Hi Folks,
Veeam newbie here. I've read the guide and the Evaluators guide, and I'm still very confused about where I should install this to demo Veeam backup/Replication.
At my main site I have two production ESX hosts (v3.5) running my VMs. The hosts are conected to an IBM FC san. I have vCenter installed on a physical win2k3 server at main site. vCenter controlls those two ESX hosts as well as another at DR site.
At my DR site I have just the one ESX host (v3.5) with local storage.
I want test the speed of replicating VMs from Main site to DR site over a 20Mb WAN connection setup as a lan extension (same subnet for servers on both sides of the connection)

Do I install:
- into a VM at MAin site, or
- onto my vCenter physical server at main site, or
- into a VM at DR site, or
- do I need a physical server at DR site?
- and what "veeam mode"

I will be upgrading to vSphere in the next two months but I'd like to get a feel for Veeam in my current environment since this the setup I had when I tested Vizioncore as well.
I've also read about helper Veeam VMs but I'm even more confused and its not even Friday afternoon yet :-)
Is there a good document with simple diagrams of different installation scenarios for various types of setups?
Eventually I'd like to also test backup to tape for archive purposes, probably done at main site, but I'd consider moving that to DR site.
Any help apreciated
Thanks
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6717 times

Re: Installation location for a replication trial

Post by Gostev »