Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
SilentDeath
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: JohnDoe

Lefthand Direct SAN Back-up

Post by SilentDeath »

Hello,

I'm a junior sysadmin who recently started working in a medium size company.
We've decided to set-up a new back-up server to move from vRanger to Veeam.
I'm not really a storage/back-up expert so this is a challenging project for me.

We use Lefthand storage for VMware datastores.
Our VMware cluster consists of 3 nodes (HP BL460C G6 nodes) in a C9000 enclosure. (80 VM's, 13 TB data)

I've received another BL460C G6 server which will be used as the new back-up server. (prob running WS2K12 R2)
As back-up repository, i have 2x 8.13TB RAID5 NAS available with 2GB NIC speed.

So, I have to map these ISCSi luns as read-only targets on this new server I assume?
Once mapped, does Veeam know that it will back-up directly from the SAN instead of backing up the LUNs mapped to the vCenter?
Another question, do I need another physical server to be used as a backup proxy? Or is this not necessary for my environment.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Lefthand Direct SAN Back-up

Post by foggy »

Hello, yes, once your Veeam B&R server has access to VMFS LUNs and you can see them in the Disk Management snap-in, direct SAN should be possible. Another proxy server may be required to spread the load, once you decide that a single default proxy (installed as a part of Veeam B&R) is not enough for you tasks.
GarethUK
Influencer
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Gareth

Post by GarethUK »

Hello Silent Death,

This is going to sound a bit bonkers. Basically, don't touch the proxy and don't touch the Storevirtual.

From the Veeam interface initialise the repo as a veeam proxy. I suspect you've already done this.