Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ChrisStarmer
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Chris Starmer

Backup Copy timing logic

Post by ChrisStarmer »

I have been using Backup Copies for a couple of years but I cannot get my head round the timing settings.

I have a big VM which I want taken off site using backup copies. The backup for this VM runs at 07:45 every morning and can take 4-5 hours.

My questions are :-

1) What time do I set the "copy every starting at" time on the backup copy
2) How often should I set the "copy every" to ?

I am struggling to understand the login of the "copy every" setting. A copy interval of 1 day rather than meaning "copy every 1 day" seems to mean "copy only backups created in the last day". I'm not interested when the backup was copied, I just want the latest backup point replicated - I always just want that.

I have just changed the backup copy from a 2 day "copy every" to 1 day (it was 2 day to make sure the backup copy captured the latest backup and actually did something). It's 15:00 now so a backup was done at 07:45 - 11:00 this morning. The backup copy is sitting there saying "Waiting for next copy interval" when I know it has not copied this mornings backup. A "sync now" has started the backup copy.

So I guess I want the system to do a backup and then immediately start copying the backup via the backup copy job and not to stop until it's finished. How do I get the system to do that ?

Thanks in advance.....
ChrisStarmer
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Chris Starmer

Re: Backup Copy timing logic

Post by ChrisStarmer »

Should say "I am struggling to understand the logic of the "copy every" setting."
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Re: Backup Copy timing logic

Post by PTide »

Hi,
So I guess I want the system to do a backup and then immediately start copying the backup via the backup copy job and not to stop until it's finished. How do I get the system to do that ?