Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
Minker17
Novice
Liked: never

Tape Protection Questions

Post by Minker17 »

Our tapes are automatically becoming protected after jobs finish. I'm new to veeam and coming in after some of these jobs were created, so I'm trying to gain clarification.

The new, empty tape is in a free pool. It will get assigned to a Media Pool automatically, then the job will run. Per the job settings, we have retention set for a week. So once the job is done, the tape locks itself to prevent being overwritten. Do I have this process correct?

Further, the tape is an 800gb tape. What if the job is only 100gb or something small, leaving a large amount of space available still? We have a handful of tapes that are part of pools, that are protected with over 500gb free. Can I set a rule that doesn't lock the tape until it reaches a low amount of free space?
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape Protection Questions

Post by Dima P. »

Hi Minker17,
So once the job is done, the tape locks itself to prevent being overwritten. Do I have this process correct?
Sounds good. One provocative question though, when you say protected are you referring to protecting tapes prior exporting to the vault (it’s a separate option you could use and its not related to tape retention mechanism – check offline media tracking part here)?
What if the job is only 100gb or something small, leaving a large amount of space available still? We have a handful of tapes that are part of pools, that are protected with over 500gb free. Can I set a rule that doesn't lock the tape until it reaches a low amount of free space?
Please clarify how the media set creation option is configured in the Media Pool's settings? Thanks
Minker17
Novice

Post by Minker17 »

It's set up like this picture, but with 1 week. Yes, it appears to be protected before going into a vault.