Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
pjamme
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Peter Jam

Ready to Trade In Free Version But Need Advice

Post by pjamme »

OK,
I have been using the free version of Veeam for several years to backup my four VMWare servers to a USB disk. I would like to advance my system to a paid version of Veeam (more on that later).
I am looking for a new disk to disk for my Backup Exec 15 installation, currently using an HP MSA20 (SATA hard drives connected to a W2K8 R2 server via Ultra SCSI 320) to do D2D through a share on another server. My BE server is 2012 R2 and doesn't like SCSI.
So here are my questions:
1. Do I go with Direct Attached Storage to the BE server and run Veeam on it also? I do have the VMWare option in BE15 but prefer Veeam. Current Veeam 8.0 Free Backup & Recovery is on a Windows 7 Enterprise workstation with a 2TB USB external disk. Or do I use a SAN or a NAS?
2. Depending on which type of D2D is recommended, can I keep it under $10,000 and have 10TB or more storage? And what model is your recommendation, preferably from experience?
3. What version of Veeam should i consider, and should i wait for 9.0?

Thanks in advance,
skrause
Veteran
Liked: 105 times
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Ready to Trade In Free Version But Need Advice

Post by skrause » 1 person likes this post

I will give my advice in reverse order of your questions:

3. Since it doesn't sound like you need WAN acceleration or backup from Storage Snapshots, there is no reason to go with a license above B&R Enterprise and you would probably be just fine with B&R Standard. If you have 6 or less CPU sockets you might look into Backup Essentials. There is really no reason to wait for v9, if you purchase now you will be entitled to a free update to v9 when it is released since you will be under maintenance for a year from the time of purchase.