Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
STEVEDAWE
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Steve Dawe

2 sites - data repository not visible to 2nd Veeam server

Post by STEVEDAWE »

I'm new to Veeam and have tried to find out the answer to this but to no avail: Quick question about 2 site based backup and DR

I have Site A and Site B.
I have Hyper-V hosting production VMs at both sites.
I have a dedicated Hyper-V host machine running a VM with Veeam 9 installed at both sites too.
I wanted to backup the production data within each site to the Veeam server on that site - and then to copy/replicate that data over to the other site as a DR option ( A -> B & B -> A )

It appear as though i can do this with 2 completely independant Veeam servers, one at each site.
My question is:
a) do i create a repository for Site A data on Site B Veeam server?
b) If so, how do i then access that backup data for recovery in the event of disaster (i.e. Site A Nuked - Site B needs to run all VMs for B & A) the site B Veeam server does not appear to 'SEE' the repository containing the site A data, as it was created by a site A Veeam server...
c) can i not have a shared respository accessible and visible to both Veeam servers?
d) if not, how do i attach the site A repository (located on site b) to the site b Veeam server?
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: 2 sites - data repository not visible to 2nd Veeam serve

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

Hi Steve,

Welcome to Veeam community forums!