Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
StixForBrains
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Tony Bender

Slow WAN replication after seed

Post by StixForBrains »

I'm a Veeam noob with a question about things I should double-check.
I have a source FC-san at main office. Target SAS-san at remote site across a WAN. Link is 20 Mb fibre.
I did an initial replication job of 3 VMs to removeable media (10TB Drobo-FS) and took them to remote site. Copied to the target san in the lun location originally specified (confirmed in the text file the replica job creates on initial replica). was about 315Gig total original.
Then at the main site I started the original replication job a second time. A day and half later now it is still grinding at only about 25% done.
The job details shows 616 KB/s The backup mode is showing as NBD with change block tracking. I had the parameters set for Compression optimal, and storage WAN target optimized. And being a second pass with CBT active I would have expected much better throughput.

As a second test I just now started a file copy using the same veeam server at the same time as my current replica is still running, from same source san to same target san and I get a steady 2 MB/s. My veeam-VM doesn't seem to be working hard I gave it 4 CPUs and its barely over 25% and the esxi host its running on is not working hard either.

Is something wrong with my first replica or with the method I used with the removeable media. or any list of things I can check?
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Slow WAN replication after seed

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Tony,

File copy operation is a little bit different from replication job, so it's not quite fair to compare the results, though the speed you have is almost the same - very poor.