Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
praxxzz
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Markus Praxenthaler

Backup Copy Job does not delete old chain

Post by praxxzz »

Hello guys,

I'm pretty new to Veeam and i have a few questions.

On a new client of us we set up Veeam Backup and Replication 9.5. We created normal Backup Jobs for the VMWare Infrastructure. This works fine. The Backup is saved on an Synology 8-bay NAS. A RDX Drive is connected to the NAS. We created a Backup Repository for the RDX Drive. Now we have a Backup Copy Job with 7 Restore Points. The RDX Tape is being changed every Monday. So we should have 7 Restore Points and i would guess that the old files on the RDX Tape should be delete. But thats the problem now.
We put in a new RDX Tape on Monday. The tape got the files from 2 weeks ago on it. (We have 3 RDX Tapes). Now on Monday night the Backup Copy Job ran and it created a new full backup file. But the old files are still on the tape and i don't want that because it is only 2 TB. The Tape should start from new.
Is this possible or is something wrong with my configuration???

Another client of us uses Veeam for a few months now as well. He has 3 RDX Tapes as well. But the wants to change the Tape every day. Do you guys have a Best Practice for this situation? Is it good to use a Backup Copy Job in this situation???

I hope you can help me.
And sorry in adavance for my bad english as i am from germany :D :D

mma
Service Provider
Liked: 21 times
Full Name: Marcel

Re: Backup Copy Job does not delete old chain

Post by mma »

Hi Markus

Backup copy Job is the correct "thing" for your setup.

Did you configre the RDX repository for rotated drives?
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Keep in mind, that Veeam only starts a new chain and does not delete any old backups from your RDX after it is reconnected.
You have to delete them manually, by pre.job script or registry key.

https://www.veeam.com/kb1154