Management reporting and documentation
johnny@datafant.se
Enthusiast
Liked: never

Trust Windows Performance Counters ?

Post by johnny@datafant.se »

Hello,

I am a newbie concerning VR.

When creating reports and browsing through different functions, it just strikes me; what use is measuring a Windows Performance Counter like CPU when you cannot really trust this counter within a vm ?
VMware some time ago added their own developed CPU/Memory counters to address this but the counters are according to VMware support, removed in newer versions of vSphere.

If this is the case, then measuring vm performance is not all that interesting, correct me if I am wrong, please.

Regards,

Johnny
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Trust Windows Performance Counters ?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Johnny,

That's a good question, and I believe the answer is it depends. Let me clarify it...

You're correct in saying that VMware has its own CPU/Memory and other performance counters which should be used to monitor and report against VM's resources usage, but to have an entire picture of the resource usage you may want to use Windows Performance Counters. I've googled for this topic on VMware site, and VMware indeed highlights the benefit of using both sources of information (VMware counters and Windows perfmon counters), see the quote below:
Virtual Machine Performance Counters Integration into Perfmon — vSphere 4.0 introduces the integration of virtual machine performance counters such as CPU and memory into Perfmon for Microsoft Windows guest operating systems when VMware Tools is installed. With this feature, virtual machine owners can do accurate performance analysis within the guest operating system. See the vSphere Client Online Help.
Besides, here is a short example of this usage:
http://communities.vmware.com/blogs/dru ... e-counters