Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
rfn
Expert
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: René Frej Nielsen

Re: REFS 4k horror story

Post by rfn »

I enabled the RefsEnableLargeWorkingSetTrim registry key but not one of the others...

I have no experience with RAMMap... how do I set it up to record a sequence like you have created? The problem is that once the server is unresponsive, then I can't save anything before resetting the server.
Hauke
Influencer
Liked: 4 times
Full Name: Hauke Ihnen

Post by Hauke »

More details to my issues with freesing storage:

Registry Keys from MS are not helping. They lower the used RAM by ReFS, but Windows is still freezing. With all 3 options set the used RAM will stay at max. ~3GB, not more.
Freezing always occur on high usage of the array, for example multiple running jobs, compacting jobs, or high reading and writing at the same time (backups running + offsite backup to tape job).
Also ReFS lost all it's performance benefits after a few weeks, it's gotten very slow. It was only fast just after the creation. It feels like a very very high fragmented drive. It's not even using full 1GBit LAN now.

For me it is very clear - I will return to NTFS. No time to play a beta tester for MS, backup must be reliable without spending hours over hours for storage issues.

After again a freeze today let's hope that the drive will come up again to move the data away to another storage... at the moment it's freezing 5 minutes after each reboot.
And lets hope that moving the huge files away will not cause the storage to freeze again...

Edit: I was connected to the storage during freeze by RDP, so I can see the task manager just before the box died: memory usage 10GB from 24GB. So it's not a memory issue for me... CPU Load 100%, Uptime 19 minutes. Jay!
kubimike
Veteran
Liked: 41 times
Full Name: MikeO

Post by kubimike »