Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
jlatulippe
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Joe LaTulippe

Backup Proxy Recommendations

Post by jlatulippe »

Good day,

I am very new to Veeam B&R (v9.5) and have been doing pretty well in setting up our backups so far, but have a mental "block" when it comes to the backup proxies and need some advice (and perhaps clarity) from the more experienced among us!

Infrastructure:

We have two Hyper-V servers (2012R2) currently housing vm's that are being backed up; one with 4 CPU's and one with two (so taking advantage of Essentials (Enterprise Edition) - backing up 12 VM's including Exchange 2010 and SQL Server 2008R2.

Currently the backup proxy is the backup server (default), and working pretty well. Its a Dell R610 w/two CPU's and 64Gbytes of RAM. The Backup Repositories are two Dell 910 servers with 4 CPU's and 128GBytes of RAM per server. They each have 4TB volumes on which I am storing the backups (RAID10 array comprising 8x1TB drives). I have already ordered 16 additional 1TB drives (8/server) to create additional storage for longer retention/restore points.

The Veeam backup server, Hyper-V servers and repositories are connected on the same physical LAN and are across two Ethernet switches. I am actively working on increasing our Internet bandwidth and once completed I will be setting up replication of these vm's to our DR site via VPN connectivity across the Internet.

Now, my question(s):

Q1.) Am I best to offload the Backup Proxy service to these repositories, as they have better specs than the backup server and are only used as Veeam Repositories within our production network.
Q2.) If so, do I setup one or both as proxies?
Q3.) If I setup both as proxies does Veaam "know" which one to use for specific vm backup jobs?

Thanks so much for any guidance you can provide...

- Joe
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Backup Proxy Recommendations

Post by foggy »