Agent-based backup of Windows, Linux, Max, AIX and Solaris machines.
gberkshier-cefcu
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Glenn Berkshier

Mapping standalone agent backup to managed VBR job

Post by gberkshier-cefcu »

I have about 10-15 agent backups that I've been running for many months, and there is a lot of archived data. I'm just now starting to understand the gist of all the new stuff that has to be done to move to a server-managed Veeam Agent backup. My question now is, how do I do this with my existing backup jobs and data? I see how to create a protection groups, and new backup jobs, and getting the settings where I want them. Do I have to create new backups and start over? I saw the mapping button, but didn't see where to map to with my already existing agent backup data. I searched, but it didn't find my existing backups.

On top of this, I have Backup Copy jobs that are tied to my existing Agent backup jobs. How do I deal with all of this? Is there a document that helps with existing backups that need to be migrated over? I didn't see anything that lays out the steps. This is kind of confusing for existing backups.
JimmyO
Enthusiast
Liked: 9 times

Re: Mapping standalone agent backup to managed VBR job

Post by JimmyO »

+1

I tried to map the existing backup files to a managed job, but they doesn´t show up when browsing.
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1576 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Post by Dima P. »

Hello folks,

Unfortunately, it's impossible to seed or map backups created by standalone agent to managed by Veeam B&R job or policy.
gberkshier-cefcu
Influencer

So are you saying that if I go from an agent-controlled job to a server-based backup job, I have to cut my losses and start them all over again from scratch? That really sucks.
Dima P.
Product Manager

Post by Dima P. »

Glenn,