Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
tferguson
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Toby Ferguson

Feature request - Tape Inventory Job

Post by tferguson »

Hello. I'm fairly new to Veeam, but have gotten a few backup to tape jobs setup and running. One thing that I've run into, and I'm assuming others in smaller business environments have also, is that I have to manually run tape inventory daily. I may have gone about setting up my jobs wrong, but, currently I have Full backup to tape running on Fridays. I have incremental backups running nightly, Monday through Thursday. I have a different tape that i use for each of those nightly jobs (overwriting each week), and then different tapes for the Full backups on Fridays. In this scenario, I have to change the tape, and go into the interface and manually run the inventory job on the drive, in order for the scheduled backup job to see the change in tapes. If I don't, the backup job will not run. I've contacted support, and have been told that there is no way built in, to schedule an inventory job to run at a certain time of day.
I'm just wondering if this might be a feature that may be built into the software at some point in the future. If we had an actual tape library, this probably wouldn't be an issue, but, considering the size of this organization, it's really not necessary.
Thanks! Toby
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Feature request - Tape Inventory Job

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Toby,

If you would like to see what backup is located where, then maybe our built-in Veeam ONE reports can help here? These reports can be generated on demand as well as on any required schedule.

Thanks!
tferguson
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Toby Ferguson

Post by tferguson »