Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
WORKS2019
Enthusiast
Liked: 4 times
Full Name: RJ Cowan

New to Veeam, Best Advice Migrating from StorageCraft

Post by WORKS2019 »

Hi, I'm new to Veeam, like less than 24 hours. We've made the decision to move from StorageCraft after endless support issues which has just gotten worse as time goes by. I've been using StorageCraft over 8 years and after researching and many discussions with other technicians and MSP's we believe it's time for us to make the move.

Allot of preparation changing out our clients backup solution and moving to Veeam. Questions I have as of now? Sorry some are likely very obvious, please excuse me as there's allot of data to take in.
- Is there the option to seed data?
- Is there the option to password protect data?
- Does Veeam have a datacenter? We currently use StorageCraft's datacenters and have contemplated building our own however this is a possible future endeavor.
- We currently have a majority of clients running 2016 Microsoft Standard with 2 VM's, one a PDC and the other Exchange server. What is the best Veeam approach to backing this environment up? Currently we're backing up the entire host to a BDR and replicating this offsite. We would like to have this same approach with Veeam. Note, rather than backup the entire Host (VM's included) we would like to backup the VM's separate.

I'm sure more questions will come up and appreciate any assistance. Maybe the best question is "someone that's never used Veeam and is new to the products and is ready to replace their current backup solution", what advice do you recommend on how to get started migrating?

Thank you
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2890 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: New to Veeam, Best Advice Migrating from StorageCraft

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
and welcome to the forums