Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
kenrick
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Paul Rowan

Backup failure - incorrect login credentials

Post by kenrick »

Dear all,

Apologies if this is a very simple thing to resolve, I am brand new to Veeam and VCenter and just inherited both last week. I recently changed the domain admin password due to a senior member of the team leaving and now my Veeam backups are failing. I created a new service account and added it within Veeam under users and roles with domain admin rights. Also under Backup Infrastructure\Managed Server\servername I changed the password on the VMWare admin account.

I tried to test it by running a job ( that keeps failing ) and immediately get Access Denied.

Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Paul
kjc3303
Expert
Liked: 24 times
Full Name: Kevin Clarke

Re: Backup failure - incorrect login credentials

Post by kjc3303 »

Hi Paul have you changed the credentials on your managed servers?
Backup Infrastructure -> Managed Servers->Edit Server

Cheers

Kev
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Paul,

Do you have this error while connecting to vCenter Server? What type of repository server are you using? CIFS share? Have you restarted Veeam services after specifying new service account?

Thank you!
kjc3303
Expert

Post by kjc3303 »

Paul you will also need to change the credentials on you repository and proxy servers

Kev
kenrick
Novice

Post by kenrick »

Hi Kev,

I changed it on by right clicking the VCenter Server under the left hand column, when I click on the hosts on the right hand side and properties there is no option to change password. It simply does an update, probably the password change I made. I have tried to run the backup job again and still get Access Denied error.

Many thanks

Paul
kenrick
Novice

Post by kenrick »

Hi,